We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Edmunds Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Edmunds Guest House
Ranked #13 of 101 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in a family room for 2 weeks in august the room was an adequate size.The bedding changed regularly and towels as often as needed.Hotel spotlessly cleaned throughout.The owners Jill & Tony made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble,well situated for beach,town centre and harbour, wonderful home cooked breakfast cooked just to your liking.Overall an excellent stay from start to finish so good we've booked again for next year. Thank you for making our holiday special, Sue,Dave,Niall & Liam x,
,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davenshaven29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
57
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed for a few days at St Edmunds and were extremely happy with the proprietors Tony & Jill (especially Jills home baking!) We were treated with the upmost respect and dignity. Surroundings lovely, rooms were spacious and clean. Had all homely comforts we needed and Tony & Jill should be commended by the way they assisted us with our disabled parents. Thank you and will be back very soon. And breakfast was superb! Not one fault and we have stayed in many large chain hotels but a bit of the personal charm goes a long way and St Edmunds achieved this x Clint, Alan, little Alan & Brenda

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amsckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I stayed over the Easter Weekend with friends. A wonderful guest house located just off the sea front at Paignton. Only 5minutes walk into the town centre and attractions.

Jill and Tony (the owners) were an absolutely great couple, nothing was too much trouble (great knowledge of local attractions and places of interest) and their Breakfast is one of the best i've ever had.

Will be returning without a doubt, great rooms, great location and great people

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed here last week for 3 nights, room was small but clean and had everything we needed. Jill and Tony are lovely and made us very welcome, gave us some great recommendations (where to eat, whats on, show times etc) Really enjoyed our stay here, the Guest House is 5 mins walk from Paignton centre, but far enough away for a bit of peace and quiet. Breakfast was lovely, (try Tony's scrambled eggs for an added treat on your plate!)
Hope to return to stay here again soon. Jill and Tony made us feel just like friends and always had time to chat. A really lovely place and a really lovely couple.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traceymbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
248 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

We spent a night here in April. The room was small but had everything we needed. Jill and Tony (the owners) were very nice and provided a good breakfast. They have parking (not on the street). It is a 5 minute walk to the Esplanade where we ate at the Shoreline Cafe. It's a big glass box stretching over the water and the food is good (reasonable price, too). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.5 km away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#8 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.6 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#12 of 20 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#12 of 101 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 km away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#25 of 101 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 km away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 101 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Edmunds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Edmunds Guest House

Property: St Edmunds Guest House
Address: 25 Sands Road | Devon, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,448 - ₹ 5,662
Hotel Class:3 star — St Edmunds Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your St Edmunds Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Edmunds Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing