We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food and good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Door Bistro

Red Door Bistro
Ranked #23 of 388 Restaurants in Wigan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small intimate restaurant serving local fresh produce.
Wigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We booked a meal for our 10th wedding anniversary. They offer three courses for £12.99 which is great value for money. The food is excellent. I had pan-fried hake, which was cooked to perfection. They were thoughful enough to give us an anniversary card, which was a nice touch. We were a little disappointed with the service, and heartily disliked the music. Everyone has different taste in music, but that doesn't matter if it's not too loud, but we felt it was intrusive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    27
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Amazing staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I would like to say a huge thank you to all staff at red door! we dined with you for the first time on 4th may for my 25th birthday and it was arranged as a surprise as we had heard some amazing reviews and we were not disappointed at all! the waiting on staff are a credit to you, professional yet have personality that shines through!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Red Door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great little place, fresh food, locally sourced, the chef jane will go out of her way to do what you fancy, if not on the menu...recommended

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, brilliant owner and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I ate at the Bistro after my visit to Elaine Stewart's hairdressers upstairs and can I just say the fact that the Bistro is underneath the salon is not a problem at all. The decor and atmosphere of the Bistro are great, the food is fresh and cooked well, the portions are large, the only problem is managing to finish it all! I have been to the Bistro alone, as a couple and as a group of friends and each time thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Jayne and her staff could not be more helpful or friendly and Jayne will prepare you anything if she has the ingredients. She takes great pride in customer satisfaction, and is a perfectionist where food is concerned. Also the wine prices are very reasonable unlike some restaurants that offer good value food only to overcharge on their drinks.
I would recommend Red Door Bistro to anyone and am looking forward to attending on of the Tapas evenings when I can although they do get booked up quickly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton in Makerfield, Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Slightly strange place to eat lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I knew this place was underneath a hairdresser's, but I didn't realise that they share the same 'airspace'. A separating door would be better to ensure no hair/hair products can drift down towards the dining area.

Food choice was good, with the day's menu being emailed to us the day before so we could choose in advance, having limited time in our lunch break. I was spoiled for choice but went for roasted vegetables Morrocan-style with cous-cous, which was very tasty and came with a salad which even a salad-phobic like me enjoyed! Service was quick and courteous, and I didn't hear any complaints from any of my workmates!

I would definitely return to Red Door Bistro, but I'd like to experience it at night to have more time to relax and enjoy it - and to avoid the hairdresser's!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mojoworkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Door Bistro also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Red Door Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing