We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #102 of 331 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We took advantage of the three course speciàl for £12.95. The menu was limited but a range of choices. The food was very nice dough balls, pizza and cheesecake to follow. My only criticism would be the loud over bearing waitress who served us !!

1  Thank mooshy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

The food and staff at this restaurant were fantastic. The service was prompt and friendly and we could not fault this at all. We thought it would be a bit formulaic but nothing could be further from the truth. Also a very clean restaurant.

1  Thank DavidWalton100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Had dinner here on a quiet Wednesday night with my wife. Even with a Tesco 2 for 1 voucher, it felt overpriced. We had dough balls for starters which cost us £5; for this, we only got 5 dough balls, and these took about 25 minutes to arrive. Another 45 minutes later came our mains pizzas - while perfectly nice, I wouldn't say they were anything special or worth their £11-14 price tag. The gluten free base was also disappointing. Apart from the overpriced nature of everything on the menu and the very long waiting times for our food, the staff were fairly nonchalant and the menu was very limited and utterly uninspiring for a pizza restaurant. All in all, what should have been a safe bet left us disappointed and still a bit hungry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank retrieverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaExpressDurham, Manager at Pizza Express, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi David,

I'm really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit. If you would like to drop me an email at Durham.manager@pizzaexpress.com, I will be happy to look into how we can make this up to you.

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We had good service here, the food came quickly and was as we’d ordered. Polite staff, good pizza.
My only comment is leave a cash tip as apparently waiters don’t get the tip if you put it on card.
As our waiter was so polite we wanted them to get the money directly, so left cash.

Thank Shoppy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaExpressDurham, Manager at Pizza Express, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hello,

Thanks for leaving a lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed the service and food on your visit! Just for info, any gratuities left on card are shared between the server who looked after your table and the kitchen team and support team who made your food.

Many thanks

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Went here with our Tesco vouchers. Pizza Express is a place we wouldn't pay normally to go to as we find it hugely overpriced. The average price for a pizza is £14 and when you compare it to non corporate places that charge 5.95 for 3 courses, it falls sadly short. We went on a Saturday lunchtime and the place was packed. Luckily we'd booked and sat down wedged between 2 families with small children and babies so spent our meal having our chairs kicked and listening to squeals. The waitress was friendly and attentive without being overly attentive. We had dough balls to start as the starters are quite limited. We both had pizza for mains which were nice and thin, tasty without being anything wow. We both had a dessert me ice cream and a tiramasu which unfortunately was a bit dry. Our drinks were a small glass pinot 5.40 and a large one 7.40 pricey a bottle was 21.00. We had no bother using our vouchers, you have to pay for drinks but that's fair enough. Would go back again with vouchers but couldn't bring myself to pay their prices.

Thank durhamlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaExpressDurham, Manager at Pizza Express, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hello,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service on your visit. Can I recommend signing up to our website where you can get all the latest offers emailed directly to you each week.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing