We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Butterfly Cottage^^^”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Butterfly Cottage

Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
The Hillside Setting
view from the cottage balcony
kitchen
Dining table with complimentary wine, chocolates flowers on arrival
Wood burning stove
Downstairs mini vestibule
bathroom en suite
waterfall at Westgate
the neighbours!
Well bank
the Hamlet of Newhouse
the church at St Johns chapel
Chatterbox café in St Johns Chapel
Winter sunset at Burnhope reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen0812...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Butterfly Cottage^^^”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found the cottage to be very clean and modern, Anita and Bruce very welcoming. Only downside was not being able to access the internet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and scenery
Liked least: Unable to access internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We have now solved the internet issues and everyone should be able to access the internet from any where in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa H
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful cottage with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed three nights in this lovely little property, which more than exceeded our expectations. Our hosts were very welcoming, helpful, and unobtrusive. Living next door to the cottage they were available if needed and very concerned that their dogs did not disturb us - they never did! The property was well equipped and comfortable with views across the valley which could be enjoyed from both the living room and the small terrace outside.

The property is well placed to either have a quiet relaxing break or a more active holiday in this Area of Outstanding Beauty. We would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your smashing review of Butterfly cottage. It would be lovely to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen T
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully situated and peaceful cottage.”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Butterfly Cottage is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing holiday surrounded by stunning scenery- for myself and my daughter just a short break which the owners were happy to oblige. The cottage is well appointed, easy to find, has beautiful views and private parking. It is very well laid out with comfy furniture. Lots of literature and OS map provided for the area which is always useful. Friendly welcome and home-made bread, chocolates and wine waiting for us was a lovely start to our break. A good travelling base for visiting Teesdale and Hadrian's Wall country too. Just lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found this to be a good base for Durham, Northumberland and further afield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiwd
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights with our 2 little dogs. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, with everything you need. It is so peaceful & tranquil. The owners Bruce & Anita were extremely welcoming, not just with us but with our dogs too. We highly recommend Butterfly cottage to anyone & I know we'll certainly love to stay there again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the canine guests were comfortable as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsoots20...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

perfect place to relax, the ideal cottage for a few days away. Close to nice river walks to the local village to a lovely pub the golden lion for good pub food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the peacefull location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. We will be recommending The Golden Lion to guests from now on. Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing