We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation with lots of lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harrys House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Toby R
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation with lots of lovely little touches”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Harry's House with our two daughters, 3 and 6. We were warmly welcomed by Claire, the owner who was on hand all through our stay (and indeed since booking) to help with inquiries. The welcome package was a lovely touch and house offered everything we could need, was warm and cosy and beautifully decorated. The girls were very pleased their brightly coloured bedroom and were kept busy with a cupboard full of toys. They absolutely loved the garden with its bar and summer room and of course, the chickens (we were welcomed to help ourselves to their eggs!) I would highly recommend Harry's House to anyone looking for accommodation in the Durham area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

wow what a fab place to stay everything you would want and need in the house was like home from home, Claire and Peter are so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, I took two teenagers and 6 year old twins, there was more than enough room for us all, beds were comfortable place was very clean,my youngest son has autism so finds change very hard., so we stayed the week and wow with the hens in the garden,dog nxt door,also the friendly neighbourhood he soon settled down, the location was brill not to far from the things we wanted to do,also what was very helpful was that Claire and Peter had done their research put leaflets in the house which again help us all plus my son as they were visuals for him def a plus, thank you very much will be back x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jem190
1 review
“Great for young children”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed for a week with our baby and toddler and had a really good time at harrys house. Claire the owner was always on hand to provide information or assistance which is really handy with kids. The house was lovely and warm and bright and had everything we needed for the week such as high chair and plastic plates etc. Hot tub was fun and the garden area was well decorated and private but only concern is the garden is separated from the house by a small private lane so someone would need to be out there with young kids as opposed to watching from the back door. Not a problem in October and still wish to return again as we really enjoyed ourselves and couldn't fault the service. Thanks for a great week!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beany35
1 review
“Excellent facilities and friendly service - a unique stay!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent facilities, super service and brilliant stay. Really appreciated the extra effort of the owners!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky-gi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here as two of us was doing the Great North Run, it is a brilliant place to stay for visiting Newcastle, Durham, South shields. The house has amazing quirky decor, and Claire and Peter are amazing hosts, they have gone out of their way to make our stay so enjoyable, always putting in extra effort. The hot tub was the best thing to come home to after the run, we will definitely be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing