We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, spacious and well equipped.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MissB123
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful, spacious and well equipped.”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage is absolutely beautiful and it's huge, much larger than it looks in the photographs. There are 3 very luxurious bathrooms and good sized lounge and a massive kitchen/dining room. The whole place was very well equipped so we wanted for nothing, even with a small baby in tow- the owners had thought of everything.

We would definitely stay here again if visiting Durham or the North East.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you and your family, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Kerr_3
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“What a find!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having just returned from Wilington Hall Cottage we can't recommend it highly enough. The cottage was immaculate, well furnished and filled with anything you could possibly need from iPod docks to iron and bread to books!

The garden was beautiful, a lovely setting for a leisurely drink in the evening. The owners (who live next door) could not have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Dear Helena,
Thank you for very complimentry review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the cottage, we hope to see you again sometime.
Best Wishes
Dot and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best cottage that we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This cottage is absolutely brilliant. It is beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, a real home from home. The owners, who live next door, are lovely welcoming and friendly, available if needed but not intrusive. I would say that it is by far the nicest cottage that we have ever stayed in, so much so that we are going again next year.
There are loads of places to visit within an easy drive, Durham is only 10 miles away, Hadrian's Wall less than an hour's drive north and Richmond a similar drive to the south. Raby castle, Auckland castle and Beamish are also worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was spotlessly clean, in some cottages you have to clean everything before you dare live in it!
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott1295
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Me an my partner stayed here for 3 nights over NYE; the cottage was lovely and very clean. Dave and Dot are very friendly and inviting; we feel like that had we needed anything (which we didn't) we have had no issues approaching Dave and Dot. The cottage was very well equipped (much better than I was expecting) we didn't need for anything. Pictures don't do this justice and would recommend to anyone; We look forward to returning here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macydo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We have just returned from our stay at Willington hall cottage which was great.
Dot was really nice and helpful .The cottage was spotless cosy and everything was done to a high standard,much better than the photos . It was a good location about 8miles from Durham
We hope to go back.
Thanks Dot

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage and we hope to see you again. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing