We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Fern Cottage is on Gilesgate Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fern Cottage is on Gilesgate Green
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Fern Cottage is on Gilesgate Green
Lounge
well equipped kitchen
Kitchen
Large bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
small landing
Bathroom with over bath shower
Bathroom
outside seating in enclosed courtyard
view from Fern Cottage of Gilesgate Green
Rowing boats for hire on the river in Durham City
Gilesgate Green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dkb60
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed a week at Fern Cottage, immediately felt at home and could have stayed for months! The galley kitchen is well equipped, the living room comfortable, the queen bedroom is luxuriously spacious and the bathroom decor simply fabulous. Had the weather been better (i.e. warmer and dryer) we would have enjoyed sitting in the outdoor space off the kitchen. As it was we were toasty warm inside throughout our stay, and in the UK that's not always the case.

The cottage is a 25-30 minute walk from the train station, and while it is mainly an uphill hike it is doable (we're in our mid-sixties and carried our backpacks). A grocery store is a few minutes walk away, and the town centre is 15 minutes (downhill going to town, up hill returning).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall welcoming feel of the cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valcalli
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great place to stay in Durham - on a regular bus route to town centre”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were very impressed with the reception we received. The cottage was clean and cosy with everything we could possibly need included.
facing a quiet green with shops and eating places very near by.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza59_1...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely comfortable well equipped cottage. About 15 min stroll into town. Uphill all the way back so wise to take the bus. Handy to a great pub for dinner and supplies at the local store both 3 mins walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, Well equipped kitchen. All necessary utensils and lots of little extras.
Liked least: Only a double bed. Such a huge bedroom its a shame they don't have a Queen Size Bed. Very comfortable though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Charming cottage - full of character!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect for the two of us. A nice, leisurely walk into the city with a number of options. The cottage was clean, tidy and comfortable with a well appointed and equipped kitchen. We loved our stay here!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave w
essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for a short break. It was possible to walk into Durham (hill was a bit steep but not a problem for us!) Durham was a nice city, and the cathedral was lovely and worth a visit. We would visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing