We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic getaway in the beautiful countryside!”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Owl Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Owl Lodge
LOL Living Room LOL Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Little Owl Lodge
LOL Living Room
LOL Kitchen
LOL Alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Compass52...
1 review
“Fantastic getaway in the beautiful countryside!”
Reviewed 20 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

We had a wonderful stay at Little Owl Lodge and only wish we could have stayed longer!
Although this is a 2 bedroom lodge, it feels very spacious with its open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area. It had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable including television, wood burning stove and dishwasher. We also loved having 2 bathrooms - one with a Jacuzzi-type bath and the other with a shower and sauna! The outside area had patio furniture and we were able to sit outside in the sunshine, enjoy the tranquility and watch the Alpaca grazing. Pat and Yvonne were wonderful hosts and made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived. Our daughter was very keen to get closer to the Alpaca and Pat generously took us up to their field and gave us an hour: feeding the Alpaca by hand and telling us all about them - it was the highlight of her stay.
The lodge is wonderful whether you want to chill onsite or use it as a base to explore the local area. Pat and Yvonne have left plenty of leaflets and maps to get you started as well as ideas of where to eat out if you don't fancy cooking!
Durham is within easy reach and definitely worth a visit, so is the Durham Heritage coast, High Force waterfall and the lovely market town of Barnard Castle.
I'd definitely recommend !!

Date of stay: August 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonePineK...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay. Would highly recommend”
Reviewed 2 July 2019 for a stay in June 2019
1
person found this review helpful

This was a beautiful retreat for myself and my friend for the weekend.
It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed, from full cooking facilities... to alpacas out the front for us to sit and watch whilst having our coffee!

Would highly, highly recommend this place.

Next time we are in the area we would not hesitate to book.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5583YCJo...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem !!!!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Set in beautiful Teesdale, County Durham, Little Owl Lodge is very well located for visiting the historic city of Durham complete with it's castle, cathedral and ancient university. The pretty market towns of Barnard Castle and Richmond are within easy reach, as are The North of England Open Air Museum at Beamish, and Bowes Museum. Newcastle upon Tyne, Gateshead's Metrocentre and the Durham coastline can be accessed within an hour !!!
Little Owl Lodge is a place to relax and get away from the pressures of modern life.
It has everything you could need for a luxurious stay, …… comfortable furnishings, clean linens, a well equipped kitchen, a very pleasant outdoor area for alfresco dining and even an indoor sauna !!!!!
We were afforded a very warm welcome by the owners who ensured we were introduced to everything the lodge has to offer. A "welcome" pack of "goodies" awaited us !!!
We could NOT have chosen a better place to stay..... very clean, very comfortable and comprehensively furnished. The lodge is EXTREMELY well insulated and has a VERY responsive oil-fired central heating system.
You can even take an alpaca for a walk during your stay !!!!! What more could you want? !!!
I can recommend this accommodation without reservation.

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to book the lovely Little Owl Lodge!”
Reviewed 15 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

This is a wonderful place to stay; the owners Pat and Yvonne have taken great care to make sure that their guests will be comfortable. We stayed in November; the lodge was very warm, and we enjoyed the charm of the log burning stove in the evenings. The beds were comfortable, the shower was good, and the sauna and hot tub offered added luxury. There were views of the countryside all around us, and we enjoyed looking out on the alpacas. One of the highlights was when Pat took us to meet these lovely animals and let them feed out of our hands. Would definitely recommend Little Owl Lodge.

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougthain
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lodge in a fantastic setting.”
Reviewed 2 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Lovely well equipped and comfortable lodge, fantastic country setting and very friendly and helpful owners in Pat and Yvonne. Excellent base for seeing North Yorkshire and County Durham. I would definitely recommend Little Owl Lodge for a stay.

Doug & Helen.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.