We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr & Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Decking area above the river Wear
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
Kingsgate Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mark n
2 reviews
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment is absolutely stunning, from the first moment I booked to the day we left the owners made it a wonderful experience.
From the welcome basket, coffee and lovely comfortable beds to the location which is perfect.
We travelled with a three year old from Australia (not easy!) but this place was an ideal place to stay.
If you are looking for a place to stay in the area... This is it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gg0161
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Durham!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a beautiful apartment only a few minutes walk from Durham centre, yet in a peaceful riverside location which makes relaxing so easy. The flat has all mod cons and is clean, comfortable and maintained to the highest standards by Chris and Wendy. It also has a secure underground parking space which means no worries hunting for a parking space, and allows you to take trips outside the town - we went to the coast one day. We loved sitting outside on the terrace, surrounded by green trees and watching the little rowing boats and ducks pass by on the river. We certainly recommend a stay here, and hope to return sometime in the not-too-distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your incredible comments and kind words. It has been our aim since inception to provide a homely and comfortable environment in which our guests can relax. Your positive feedback confirms we are achieving this, however we will not rest on our laurels and seek to constantly improve the experience for all who choose to stay with us and return.

Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
324mauree...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

First class apartment, beautifully situated on the river. Wendy and Chris have put a lot of thought into making this a pretty special place to stay, just the little touches that make the difference and show the flair they have for making your holiday special.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We aim to please and aim to make every guest as comfortable as possible. We hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very impressed all round.”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is an extremely well-equipped, beautiful apartment in an exceptional location on the banks of the river in Durham. We enjoyed peace and quiet during our short stay broken only by the chiming of the cathedral clock, quacking of the ducks and clunking of the oars as rowers passed by under the windows. The view over the river is lovely and the tower of the cathedral, floodlit at night, can be seen peeping above the trees on the other side. The welcome from Wendy was warm and friendly and she came immediately to sort us out when we failed to see the switch for the oven! A basket of goodies and a decanter of port were very much appreciated, as was the Nespresso machine, albeit without the services of George Clooney. You can't have it all! Apart from that omission, we can't find anything negative about this lovely place and highly recommend it for exploring the interesting city of Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, cleanliness and location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We endeavour to make your stay as relaxing as possible and attempt to meet any guest requests that will deliver the most enjoyable time spent in Durham with us. Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback and we hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78Travele...
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can't get this place out of my head. My wife and I spent a week here in November 2014. The modern-day fixings of this apartment are second to none. The hosts have thought of everything and their welcome is warm and efficient.

Nowhere I've stayed has more charm. I was transported back in time, many centuries, imagining myself living on the banks of the River Wear and trekking up the hill to the Cathedral for philosophical discussions with the Venerable Bede.

Durham is compact and walkable. Students are everywhere, giving a young feel to an old town. If I were British, I think I'd retire there. Living in this flat on the Wear has given me a lasting taste of eternity.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
We cannot thank you enough for your fantastic feedback and eloquent description of your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the riverside location and all that Durham City has to offer and hope you choose to return soon.

Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing