We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Riverside location
Decking area overlooking the River Wear and Elvet Bridge
Master Bedroom with hairdryer
Master bedroom en-suite bathroom
Double bedroom with seperate bathroom
Large flat screen TV and DVD player
Bath and shower facilities
Main bathroom
Internal lift from FREE secure underground car park
Free unlimited WIFI
Nespresso coffee machine with complimentary pods
External intercom system to allow remote access to visitors
Eco radiators in each room
Durham Cathedral
Durham Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rod P
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Owners were efficient to deal with and there to welcome us when we arrived. They went out of their way to help us with our particular needs. Lovely accommodation, bright and spacious, which made our stay very enjoyable despite the weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L
1 review
“High quality apartment in excellent location”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We very much enjoyed our stay at Elvet View. The apartment is bright and spacious, well equipped and decorated in excellent taste. Everything worked. We received a warm welcome from Bethany and there was a generous welcome package. The apartment is very well located, right on the river, with easy walking access to the city centre, numerous pubs and restaurants on the doorstep. Would highly recommend it for couples, two couples together, or families.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
"Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone."
Kind regards Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, perfect location for city centre break.”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Met by Chris and Wendy who were fantastic hosts. Explained everything we needed to know about the apartment and places of interest in he city.
The apartment was first class could not fault a thing. The welcome basket was a lovely surprise, we enjoyed the wine whilst sitting on the balcony watching life go by on the river.
Would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Durham, and hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.

Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyFran
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment is absolutely perfect for a visit to beautiful Durham. It is located centrally and yet is beautifully quiet. The views from the apartment are lovely and it was a pleasure to watch people rowing by peacefully on the river each day. The apartment has everything you would expect and need and is beautifully and tastefully decorated - as well as being spotlessly clean. We can't fault it. When we stay in Durham again we will definitely check to see if this apartment is free. We can recommend this apartment without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very difficult question to answer - everything about this property is lovely.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia C
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent riverside apartment presented with care and attention.”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have really enjoyed our stay in the historic city of Durham. We chose the apartment specifically, for its riverside location and was not disappointed. The accommodation is badged as 'luxury' and delivers on all levels including transport from the railway station, treats on arrival and a warm, clear introduction to the apartment from Chris. Steeped in history and culture, mostly, centred around the University, Durham also makes a good base to explore Newcastle and the coast, via South Shields. There is a good selection of franchised and independent restaurants and if your tipple is real ale, try out Head of Steam on North Road, or a blast from the Victorian past in the Victoria pub, a short walk from the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of accommodation offered.
Liked least: The banging bass music from the Library Bar on the opposite riverbank was present while sat in the lounge of an evening, it did not however, disturb our sleep. Consider reducing the number of scent diffusers on the ground floor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing