We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Huckleberry Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Huckleberry Cottage
Sitting Area with Central Gas Fire Open Plan Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Huckleberry Cottage
Sitting Area with Central Gas Fire
Open Plan Kitchen and Breakfast Bar
Master bedroom with King Size bed and doors opening onto patio
Sitting Area with double doors opening up to Orangery
Open Plan Living
Orangery / Dining Area for 6
Orangery with double patio doors leading to garden
Second Bedroom with doors opening onto patio
Second Bedroom sleeps 3
Bathroom with shower
Our stunning view of rolling countryside
Secluded and private location
Local Gastro Pub  'Black Horse Beamish' 2 minutes walk
Northumberland Coastline - Bamburgh Castle
Durham Cathedral in the winter (only 15-20 minutes drive)
Newcastle Quayside and City Centre (only 15 minutes drive)
Beamish Museum - http://www.beamish.org.uk/
Beamish Wild - http://www.beamishwild.co.uk/
Alnwick Garden and Castle owned by the Duke and Duchess of Northumberland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andreaNei...
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for 1 week in march weather was fantastic family and friends came and we sat outside and had food and drinks in the lovely sunshine whilst the dogs ran around in the field. Great place for the dog as he spent most of the time roaming around outside and didnt need to worry as no road near. Cottage lovely and warm with under floor heating and a gas log burner to back it up which we hardly used. Kitchen lovely and big with everything you need. Only thing it could do with is a large freezer as only a small one in fridge. Lovely pub up the hill which did lovely food and had happy hour from 4pm till 7pm everyday we did take advantage of this as it was so nice and welcoming. Alison at pub very helpful. Would definately come back again we loved it

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle1...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice cottage”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Huckleberry for 3 nights in January. Cottage is smaller than what you imagine from photos but big enough for 4 people. Décor is nice and kitchen is well equipped. Underfloor heating is excellent ensuring you are toastie throughout. TV is very old so could not connect PC/ USB or the likes so stuck with the TV channels. No WIFI either and mobile signal is very poor at the cottage despite all 4 of us having different network providers. So we really were incommunicado which for some might be fab but for me I like to be reachable as I have two young children at home. Absolutely loved the conservatory as we could watch the stars on an evening, although it is chilly in there. The cottage could have done with a good clean and sweep etc. There were many dead flies in the conservatory and there was dust on sofa, chairs, bedroom furniture. However we washed everything down and felt better. The views are amazing from the cottage and we went on lovely walks each day in the woods adjacent. Nice pub 100m away and beamish nearby. The road down to the cottage from the Black Horse is dreadful and my car undercarriage took some damage. There is a little road entrance at the bottom of the property which is in a better state of repair which should be used instead of the one down from the pub you have to collect keys from. All in all a good stay, perhaps just needs a bit updating in terms of technology and a thorough clean. This I feel changes it from a luxury cottage (which you are paying premium for) to a beautiful standard cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery
Liked least: Cleanliness and lack of wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonicacac...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing, wonderful, peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Huckleberry Cottage and it did not fail to wow us again. Very spacious, well equipped large kitchen, 2 lovely bedrooms. It was as always clean and tidy. Situated in a huge meadow and a short walk to a wonderful pub. A short drive to towns and villages nearby. We stayed for a week this time and spent a great deal of time in the cottage, which was so relaxing. We were never bothered once by the owner, totally left alone but we had her number if we needed her, I would hate to be pestered by an owner or watched constantly. Dogs are allowed as long as the owner knows and we take ours who has plenty room in the cottage and has lovely runs on the meadow, also dogs are allowed at the pub. I look forward to our next holiday at this wonderful cottage :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, relaxing, wi-fi, left alone to relax
Liked least: nothing at all to be honest
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike p
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, well located and well maintained”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We must have followed the last guests - as when we arrived everywhere was spotlessly clean, the grass was cut and the 200 yard walk from the pub didn't seem to treacherous. We visited to be near family and unwind from the general hustle of busy lives. The cottage delivered what we wanted - great location, no traffic and only open fields to look at. Handy for getting around the area, great walks for the dog on your door step and the beer at the Stables microbrewery 1/2 mile away is worth anyone's time.
Would have been nice to have had some milk etc upon arrival as we travelled from the south-coast and got their tired and late - but that would be a churlish gripe.
Needs a new and more comfortable sofa in the living room too.
The single bed in the second room could do with a new mattress too - wasn't great for a teenager.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were there to visit family - so ideally located
Liked least: It's a blooming long way from where we live
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Heswall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing Break with a Very Handy and Excellent Pub!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Nicely situated in meadowland not overlooked by anyone so very peaceful, property well equipped - perhaps 3 piece suite could do with replacing but otherwise extremely happy with all the facilities - lovely area to explore i.e. Beamish Museum and of course Durham. Just a 2 minute walk to The Black Horse which we visited on each night and ate there on two occasions, the food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in that area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: 3 Piece suite!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing