We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of North of England Trike Tours

North of England Trike Tours
Ranked #4 of 8 Tours in Durham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North of England trike tours offers our guests the chance to Enjoy experience northern Englands best countryside and coastline on board our 1400 cc 3 seater chauffeured trike .Taking a chauffeured trike tour with North of England trike tours is an experience like no other, your riding with genuine bikers and getting the true biking experience.. Touring Hadrians wall, the beautiful lake district, the stunning undiscovered North Pennines,the historic Northumberland coastline or the Yorkshire dales & moors including Whitby or the famous Tan Hill Inn..Our tours cover every national park in Northern England in all seasons..Its an amazing day out..You could even buy a North of england trike tours gift voucher and add lunch at the UK s highest inn, Tan hill, or perhaps a tour of the Black sheep brewery or a ride around Hadrians wall, Kielder water ,Holy Island or the Scottish borders as well as all our Lake distict tours & North Pennine tours for which we are renowned. At North of England trike tours we offer you unlimited miles of tours and of pure enjoyment binging you closer to the spectacular countryside & coastline of the North. Full riding gear is provided, music is on board too and helmet have intercoms allowing you to chat to each other and your very friendly driver as he points out places of interest on you journey through what is know as Englands last wilderness. If that wasnt enough for your complete convienience we have pick up points in every county. Lake district, Northumberland, Tyne & Wear, Yorkshire & Cumbria & Durham..So call North of England trike tours today, because the ride of your life...starts right here..
Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Based on the positive reviews on this site I booked a tour over the internet with North of England Trike Tours. Unfortunately the website omits some very important conditions. To quote from the email I received from the owner, “And at no point anywhere does it say if it is raining you will get a refund, this is an outdoor activity.” If this was clearly stated on the site I would have thought twice before booking.

The site does say “If it looks like the weather will be unsuitable we will re-schedule your tour with you over the telephone with no fuss to a date which is convienient for you.” The booking confirmation email says it somewhat differently: “If your tour has to be postponed due to weather conditions then we will reschedule the tour to a time which is convenient for both parties.” In actually if the tour is cancelled due to weather and you can’t reschedule during your visit, you get a voucher good for 12 months. If you don’t plan to return to the area in that time period you’re just out of luck (and out of a lot of money).

Since we planned to take the tour the day before we left the area and didn’t plan to return within twelve months I thought the risk too high and asked to cancel the reservation. This all took place within 24 hours of making the reservation and receiving the terms by email. Well, they do have a policy of charging 20% for any cancelled reservation. As the owner explained in his email “The cancellation fee covers towards the time we spend on administration, sending emails, booking your tour & on this tour as it was be-spoke the time spent creating a be-spoke tour route for you which takes considerable time planning . The whole process takes time & costs us money, businesses dont run for free.” Quite understandable. However, my reservation was for two months later and only 24 hrs. elapsed. Did he do all that work in such a short period and that far in advance? I doubt it. His attitude speaks volumes.

So I’m out my 20% cancellation fee and probably better off. I have no reason to believe that if everything went as planned the tour would be as other reviewers have experienced. Unfortunately if it doesn’t you need to be concerned about the kind of people running the operation. I have booked tours in many countries and have never experiemced a more “customer unfriendly” attitude. There are other companies with positive reviews conducting Trike Tours in the Lake District. I would recommend booking with them.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trike-tours-uk, Owner at North of England Trike Tours, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We were expecting something like this as we did receive an email from this person stating' If we wavered the cancellation charge then we could both move on ' ! it was vaguely threatening.

So this is no surprise.

We also wondered wether it was worth replying to this comment but as it made up of mainly lies & innacuacies then we decided to.

Unfortunately Trip Advisor does not rate customers, Saying that this person never took our tours for reasons known only to them so how can they rate us ?

It starts 'buyer beware' ?

well just look at the other comments left by genuine customers.
Then goes on to say they booked the tour online.. Rubbish, He booked it over the telephone with myself.

Then at a later time the person stated in an email to us if it was raining they expected to get a refund .

But as stated in numerous sections of our web site including FAQ'S & trems & conditions
'postponements due to rain are rescheduled'.
It does not say or imply that they are refunded anywhere. The fact we are an activity company whom operate outdoors suggest sometimes there will be rain & we do everything in our power to make the tours an enjoyable exciting activity but we cant alter the fact it can rain, seems this was not good enough for this gentleman from Ohio USA, but as it says in his profile on trip advisor 'only the best is good enough for him' this must no include UK weather.

The bit about if you book your tour and you dont plan to return to the area ' then tough you have lost your money' is complete & utter rubbish.

It is not advisable to book the tour on your last day of your holiday in the Lake district, renowned for rain.
That is why we advise you book your tour at the beginning of your holiday so we have some freedom to re-schedule if weather is unsuitable before you go home. If we cant a voucher is issued valid for 12 months and they are transferable. In 6 years we have never Left a single person from abroad without their tour, we move heaven & earth to make sure it is taken while you are here, I have even worked on my 'days off' to ensure this..

The person states 'my reservation was for two months later and only 24 hrs elapsed. Did he do all that work in such a short period and that far in advance? I doubt it. His attitude speaks volumes'.

Well - the provisional booking whereas the date was held for this person was requested on the morning of 21st FEB cancellation was requested late afternoon 23rd FEB , is that 24 hrs?, No ! it is not.

He states,Did he do all this work in a short period and so far in advance ?
YES ! That's what happens when you run your own business , working all hours, creating a be-spoke tour for this gentleman so he would see the best sights suitable for his hobby of photography. We dont have to take extra time doing this but because we care passionately about what we do then we do it and Unfortunately this person is trying to make us look bad because we also like every other company adhere to our terms & conditions which state the cancellation fee clearly in black & white, it is not hidden.

All experience companies have a cancellation fee. We are no different & ours is clearly stated.

In fact when I spoke to this person on the phone before his cancellation was processed I asked why he wanted to cancel and he was aware of the cancellation fee and said he would rather pay that then take the tour.
The person states ' I have no reason to believe that if everything went as planned the tour would be as other reviewers have experienced. Unfortunately if it doesn’t you need to be concerned about the kind of people running the operation. I have booked tours in many countries and have never experiemced a more “customer unfriendly” attitude.
'
At North of England Trike Tours take this very personally, this person was treated politely with respect the whole way through this process even when provocative & loosly threatening emails were sent to us.
'Need to be concerned about the kind of people running this business' ...How about Honest people, hard working people, with references a mile long, We are approved, CRB checks completed, We have been part of police safety initiative schemes, we put our selves out to help older people & people with disabilities take tours & enjoy the freedom of motorcycling even though it takes longer and we receive no extra for it, we do it because we care enough that every person should be able to enjoy this fantastic experience. We have been running this business for 6 years with customers returning again and again and again.

He states 'There are other trike tour companies in the lake district'. No there is only one ! One doesn't exist even though the website is still up and I really hope that the other one if he contacts them has read this and saves them selves the unpleasant experience of having any dealings with this person.

I am genuinely so thankful that 99.99999 % of the people we come into contact with are decent people are nothing like this person whom in his own words in the email he sent us 'tentatively scheduled a tour', he was uncertain wether to book it and by the time he decided he did not want it was upset that the cancellation fee also applied to him.

His refund was made without delay or argument when requested as we always do as customer service is important to us as our genuine feedbacks illustrate.


I have looked at his reviews of other companies and some others do no seem to have meet his unreal expectations, other companies whom others find excellent.

To reiterate this man never took a tour with us & was upset there was a cancellation charge.

In the meantime North of England Trike Tours continue to provide chauffeured tours to genuine people with great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I booked this tour to celebrate my friend's retirement and what a way to celebrate. Mark met us in Crook (as we had no transport to get to his office) and took us on a 2 hour trip with breathtaking scenery all the way. He also kept us well entertained with his witty & informative commentry. Even though we had a bit of drizzle (the promised sunshine kept disappearing - well, it WAS November!) the 2 hours flashed by and it was over all too quickly.
I would thoughly recommend taking one of these tours. November was brilliant, I can only imagine how good it would be in summer with constant sunshine.
This is one of those experiences you just have to have.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank HollyB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trike-tours-uk, Owner at North of England Trike Tours, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Was lovely meeting you guys and although the weather was a bit hit missy was a great day with good conversation. Hope to see you again on a sunny day.
Mark @TT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I bought this experience as a gift for my mum and I accompanied her on the trip. I found the organiser to be very jolly and helpful in the planning stages and was thrilled when we met in person as he was very personable, knowledgable, funny and made the experience even better than we could have anticipated. The Wilderness Tour comes highly recommended, it takes in a number of counties and in particular the splendid moorland of Weardale which I shall not forget. He added his own personal flare pointing out landmarks, telling tales and generally making sure that we made the most of our experience and it was truly unforgettable. Its a great idea to start at Bradley Burn too, the farm shop is relatively small but has everything including a lovely cafe selling good quality food (and a small shop selling lots of local ale, amongst other things) its worth spending time there and in the nearby area which the Trike Tours, and specifically the organiser made sure that we fully appreciated!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trike-tours-uk, Owner at North of England Trike Tours, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Hi Lauren,
Most people enjoy going on the tours but I got the impression with your mam that it was more than that, I think she was seriously over the moon you took her on one of our trike tours. Loved taking you guys out, it was an absolute pleasure to do so. And so glad you took my advice & visited the Cathedral, hope to see you again one day. Mark @ TT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Mark is brill...fab tour of our beautiful north with amazing views and a friendly, interesting guide. Well recommended!

Helpful?
7 Thank Mammypowton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trike-tours-uk, Owner at North of England Trike Tours, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for the great review.
Never tire of taking FUN people around our beautiful city of Durham, give us a call next time you visit, we now have tours running from the city to Hadrians wall & the North Pennines. ;-) Mark. @TT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We did this trip as part of a weekend away in Durham. The tour around Durham takes half an hour and was a great way to see the city in a unique way. Riding around with the rock music pumping out was great fun for us 'girls' and Mark, our driver, looked the part with his leathers and bandana. He made us feel at ease and took us to see parts of Durham that would have been hard without a car.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Lesley6815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trike-tours-uk, Owner at North of England Trike Tours, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for the great comments, remember you guys as a load of FUN,,we now have tours from the Durham City up to Hadrians wall and also from Newcastle up the coast as far as the Scottish borders. So if you in the area again on a break and you fancy something differant give us a call,,,Thanks again, Mark @ TT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North of England Trike Tours also viewed

 

Been to North of England Trike Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing