We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
542
654
342
154
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
654
342
154
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure club the river the hotel car park elvet bridge leisure centre excellent location a bit tired steam room per night public areas central location reception staff beautiful city superior room buffet style huge bed stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We cannot fault this hotel. The Receptionist, Katie, was excellent. Gave us tips on restaurants etc., upgraded our room to a suite from the original room which we thought was too warm as did not have air conditioning. The breakfast was very good and served until 11.00 am. We thought the bar was a little lacking in atmosphere but it was perfect for that last drink. The hotel has very good car parking facilities and we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: As for a room with air conditioning. We ended up with a suite with a small lounge area and the room had 2 TVS.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chorleychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great comments about your stay and in particular about Katie on our Reception team. We do hope that we can be of service to you again very soon.
Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked a standard room but found when we arrived that we had been upgraded to a suite, a pleasant surprise. The room was comfortable and well equipped. There was plenty of choice for an unhurried breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Booking taxis for use and keeping our luggage safe whilst we went to a thanksgiving service out of the city.We would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ACKER49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely room.
Woke early hours with door banging and at 6am due to heavy fire doors. I am a poor sleeper anyway so might be ok for most.
Bed felt firm though I slept well and felt comfortable.

I had chicken burger and chips in the bar, which I enjoyed so much I had the same this evening.
Lovely pool and fitness centre.
In the centre, great location. Was initially shocked when I saw parking sign stating £19 for 24 hours as I was there for 3 days however to my relief it was only £7 if staying at the hotel.

Staff very friendly and professional

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank GPellowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Dreary, depressing, and borderline disgusting from start to finish. Looked as though this was originally quite a nice hotel, then Marriott bought it and tacked on a Frankenstein's monster, on the cheap. The hotel's layout was bizarre and labyrinthine. Once you cross a certain threshold, you are in a new microclimate that's beyond just hot. This (newer) part of the hotel that overlooks the river must have been built on some sort of steaming cauldron of a medieval boiler system because not only are the rooms sweltering, but the bathrooms are so hot that the shower and sink taps are untouchable with the constant heat pulsing through them. Let me repeat: not only shouldn't you turn on the hot taps, you shouldn't even TOUCH them. Normally in Northern England, lack of an air conditioner is not a huge problem. But with this mysterious heat issue, these un-air conditioned rooms are simply unlivable, even with the windows wide open as ours were, and even with the anemic little fan they provided us when we asked for help. Even our suitcases were steaming hot on the bottom, thanks to the heat coming up from the floor.

Furniture is hulking and dark and wrong for the rooms (and seemingly about 30 years old), while carpets are stained and worn. We had no hairdryer or coffee/tea pots/cups, and Marriott is the last hotel chain in the world that still charges for wifi (we got it free thanks to being "members," but still).

There was a fire alarm in the middle of the night, so the entire hotel was forced to wait outside in the cold for an hour (everyone in pajamas) while the fire brigade checked each room. No compensation of any kind for this inconvenience.

Staff was nice enough but my god, this hotel needs to be euthanized. Put it out of its misery and let's pretend it never happened. Durham abounds with better options, which we've experienced in the past. We ended up at the Scarriott because it was last-minute and we had to take what we could get.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adventuress101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you state, the Riverside wing of the hotel which accommodates all standard rooms does not benefit from air conditioning unlike our deluxe and supreme rooms. We will of course share your comments regarding the taps with our maintenance team as we are unaware of this issue.
A tea/coffee making tray and hair dryer should be present in all rooms located in the low level cupboard and wardrobe. These items are checked prior to any guest stay and again your feedback will be shared with our Housekeeping team.
In terms of Wi-Fi, this is provided complimentary in all public areas and in our deluxe and supreme rooms. In addition, all Marriott Rewards members receive complimentary Wi-Fi when booking directly with Marriott hotels.
Unfortunately we did experience a full fire evacuation from the hotel in the early hours of Saturday morning. The safety of our guests and staff is our number one priority. The hotel was evacuated and the cause of the alarm was investigated before the Fire Brigade confirmed it was safe for guests to return to their rooms.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Durham Marriott in a room facing the river. Although the view was pleasant—except when party boats drifted by—the room was most definitely not. Despite cool weather, the room was insufferably hot, for reasons unknown. There was no air conditioning either. As consolation, we were given a fan that did essentially nothing. Weirdly, the bathroom was even hotter, like a sauna.

Other peculiarities. The room had no guidebook or information—just a menu for the vastly overpriced breakfast, which they charge extra for if you don’t book in advance. You know how hotels usually have a little coffee/tea set up and two glasses. Not here! Nothing at all. The room didn’t even have a hair dryer (iron? No).

I would definitely not recommend staying here unless you like a hot box of a room with old furniture.

I would exempt the staff from this review. They were helpful and friendly.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Kusher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read of your disappointment on this occasion. Unfortunately, the Riverside wing of the hotel which accommodates the hotels standard rooms does not currently benefit from air conditioning. We are sorry that you found the room to be uncomfortably hot for your stay. All rooms should have a guest directory, tea/coffee making tray which is housed in the low level cupboard, an iron and ironing board and a hair dryer which are both located in the guest wardrobe. As these items are part of the room checks by each attendant, it would be unusual for all items not to be present, however we will ensure your comments are shared with our Housekeeping team.
We thank you for your kind comments about our team who look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews