We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spooktacular hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

My wife and I were really looking forward to staying here, being a sister hotel of a hotel we have stayed at (and loved) before – Coombe Abbey near Coventry.
First impressions were good – check in was good, car parking plentiful and atmosphere suitably spooky!
We had room 63 in the main castle on the top floor. Unfortunately there is no lift so it meant lugging our luggage up two flights of stairs and finally up a traditional castle spiral staircase which was not very clever. Why the porter led us up that way is beyond me as there were much easier access stairs from within the hotel courtyard car park. This has also been mentioned in other reviews so Lumley you need to sort this out!
Our room was lovely being a fully panelled, large room with a lovely bathroom with a large bath. The finish and attention to detail was great. We ate in the black knight restaurant on our first night and the quality of food was very good.
Breakfast – there was a choice of cereals, meats, cheeses, juices, pastries etc, was very good. We opted for the full English breakfast which was not massive but very well prepared, great tasting and perfectly adequate.
Every time we passed the fabled room 43 we felt a little chill and saw some odd goings on with ornaments left in odd places – on the floor when they had been on a table earlier etc. Enjoyed the spooky feel but didn’t see anything ghostly, oh well there is always next time!
Wouldn’t hesitate come back here – we did the Bowes special – 2 nights, afternoon tea for two and bed and breakfast - worked out very good value for money.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank HM654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2017

Dear HM654, thank you for your review, we really appreciate it!
We were thrilled to read that you thought room 63 is a lovely room with great attention to detail and delighted to hear that you thought the quality of food was very good, very well prepared and great tasting.
The route our porter took you through the hotel was intentional. We provide all our guests staying within the castle a short tour. The purpose of this tour provides us the opportunity to show our guests where the Library bar and Black Knight restaurant are located within the hotel. We were sorry to hear that you thought we “need to short this out”.
We look forward to seeing you again and could we suggest upon your next visit to Lumley Castle that you try one of our special events, such as an Elizabethan Banquet or a Murder Mystery dinner.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Visit the cafe part of it and the whole environment is stunning. Literally looks like you are part of it. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice cosy and relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended especially if good weather so you can sit outdoor.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ioannis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 October 2017

Dear Ioannis F, thank you for your review!
We were delighted to read that you thought the castle was stunning and you thought our staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the much appreciated recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed with you last night. We were in room 57 castle keep. The room was terrible. I have stayed with yourselves before in the court yard which was a lovely room so thought this time I would book a one in the castle as it was our friends wedding. I was expecting a bigger room than what we got and definitely one that had a bathroom and not just a little hole with a shower and toilet in it. All you could smell was the toilet all night. I am so disappointed as the room was a lot of money and was not worth it at all. A total waste of money. I feel like we have been robbed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisamck1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 October 2017

Dear Lisamck1986, thank you for sharing your review.
We’re sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your Castle Keep accommodation. Our Castle Keeps, are uniquely designed, often featuring a fun quirky location for its ensuite..i.e. the castle turret. The reason we call them Castle Keeps is because a keep is a small room inside a Castle. We’re sorry you didn’t realise you were booking one of these unique rooms when you last stayed with us.
We have passed your comments onto our in-house maintenance team, so they can investigate and take corrective action, if required regarding your comment concerning the bathroom.
We hope this won’t discourage you from visiting us again, and if you wish to discuss your comments further, please contact us on guest.services@lumleycastle.com
It is our goal at Lumley Castle to provide a unique experience to all our guests.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to visit, rooms clean and staff friendly. Dinner in evening was a little bit more than average cost wise but good value for money as excellent quality. Different experience staying in a castle. Definitely visit again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TrevPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2017

Thank you TrevPs for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it!
We were delighted to read you thought Lumley Castle is a lovely place to visit with clean rooms and friendly staff. We do try to provide a unique experience to all our guests, and we were thrilled to hear that you would visit us again. Could we suggest upon your next visit to Lumley Castle that you try one of our special events, such as an Elizabethan Banquet or a Murder Mystery dinner. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stopped here only for one night after a visit to the Durham County Records Office, checking in just after dark around 7pm. We ate both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and were pleased with the food and service. We had to call the desk to see if they could turn the heat in our room on, which they did right away, and we had a nice sleep before leaving the next day northward.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 October 2017

Dear Mark H, thank you for your review, we really appreciate it!
We were happy to read that you were pleased with the quality of food and the service you received from our staff. We aim to provide a unique experience to all our guests, and we hope that you would recommend our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
8.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
7 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.7 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#10 of 18 in Durham
78 reviews
13.3 km away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,575 reviews
8.4 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: ₹ 5,783 - ₹ 15,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Hotel Lumley
Castle Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing