We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,419)
Filter reviews
2,421 results
Traveller rating
1,270
623
331
139
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,270
623
331
139
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the black knight restaurant library bar courtyard room elizabethan banquet afternoon tea murder mystery cream tea four poster bed chester le street groupon deal scones cricket ground evening meal eggs benedict special occasion wedding venue waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 2,421 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Visit the cafe part of it and the whole environment is stunning. Literally looks like you are part of it. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice cosy and relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended especially if good weather so you can sit outdoor.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ioannis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 October 2017

Dear Ioannis F, thank you for your review!
We were delighted to read that you thought the castle was stunning and you thought our staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the much appreciated recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed with you last night. We were in room 57 castle keep. The room was terrible. I have stayed with yourselves before in the court yard which was a lovely room so thought this time I would book a one in the castle as it was our friends wedding. I was expecting a bigger room than what we got and definitely one that had a bathroom and not just a little hole with a shower and toilet in it. All you could smell was the toilet all night. I am so disappointed as the room was a lot of money and was not worth it at all. A total waste of money. I feel like we have been robbed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisamck1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 October 2017

Dear Lisamck1986, thank you for sharing your review.
We’re sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your Castle Keep accommodation. Our Castle Keeps, are uniquely designed, often featuring a fun quirky location for its ensuite..i.e. the castle turret. The reason we call them Castle Keeps is because a keep is a small room inside a Castle. We’re sorry you didn’t realise you were booking one of these unique rooms when you last stayed with us.
We have passed your comments onto our in-house maintenance team, so they can investigate and take corrective action, if required regarding your comment concerning the bathroom.
We hope this won’t discourage you from visiting us again, and if you wish to discuss your comments further, please contact us on guest.services@lumleycastle.com
It is our goal at Lumley Castle to provide a unique experience to all our guests.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to visit, rooms clean and staff friendly. Dinner in evening was a little bit more than average cost wise but good value for money as excellent quality. Different experience staying in a castle. Definitely visit again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TrevPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 October 2017

Thank you TrevPs for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it!
We were delighted to read you thought Lumley Castle is a lovely place to visit with clean rooms and friendly staff. We do try to provide a unique experience to all our guests, and we were thrilled to hear that you would visit us again. Could we suggest upon your next visit to Lumley Castle that you try one of our special events, such as an Elizabethan Banquet or a Murder Mystery dinner. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stopped here only for one night after a visit to the Durham County Records Office, checking in just after dark around 7pm. We ate both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and were pleased with the food and service. We had to call the desk to see if they could turn the heat in our room on, which they did right away, and we had a nice sleep before leaving the next day northward.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 October 2017

Dear Mark H, thank you for your review, we really appreciate it!
We were happy to read that you were pleased with the quality of food and the service you received from our staff. We aim to provide a unique experience to all our guests, and we hope that you would recommend our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

On Friday 13th October my wife and I visited Lumley for the night staying over and indulging in the Elizabethan banquet. This is our fifth visit as we really enjoy the evening put on. The staff work hard and ale sure they try to involve everyone in the spirit of the events. The food as normal is well received and as well more than enough that you struggle to finish it.
We stayed this time in room 45 which is within the castle. The room was spacious and adequate for our stay. In the room the only thing I found strange is that you had to walk through the shower cubicle in which to use the toilet. I guess though this was a good idea given that this is a real castle so best use of the space available. This though would not put me off staying over again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 October 2017

Dear Barry H, thank you for your fantastic review, we really appreciate it!
We were thrilled to hear that this was your fifth visit to Lumley Castle and you really enjoyed our Elizabethan banquet. I would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and the food served.
We aim to provide our guests a unique experience and we look forward to seeing you again and maybe on your sixth visit you try our Murder Mystery event.
Sincerely,
guest.services@lumleycastle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews