We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,416)
Filter reviews
2,416 results
Traveller rating
1,268
621
330
139
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
621
330
139
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the black knight restaurant library bar courtyard room elizabethan banquet afternoon tea murder mystery cream tea four poster bed chester le street groupon deal scones cricket ground evening meal eggs benedict special occasion wedding venue waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,092 - 2,097 of 2,416 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here overnight on voucher offer. We were in a courtyard room - pleasant enough but a bit cramped and tired in places and could do with redecoration. Lovely setting and the old part of the castle was amazing. Unfortunately restaurant fully booked so only sampled it for breakfast when the service felt a bit manic and the bacon was only cooked one side.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cakelover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I've said it all before. Excellent on every count. Fabulous food, attentive and friendly service - just perfect. Looking forward to next visit. Sadly the hotel was full for when we wanted to stay so we had to settle for dinner only - but we made a round trip of 40 miles to get it. Briulliant!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel was all I expected and more. The staff efficient, helpful and to a man proficient in everything they did. I stayed for two nights in a courtyard room and although this is a new annex it was extremley sympathetically furnished and decorated and blended in with the actual Castle. Our evening meal in the dining room was very good if a little rushed, however this gave us plenty of time to explore the wonderful grounds surrounding the castle. The breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice, you do have to let your waiter know how much bacon, sausage, egg etc etc then there is no problem with portion sizes.

Room Tip: I can only advise from the Annex point of view, it was a short walk from the actual main Castle but did not detract from the stay, and in fact would probably may be slightly quieter rooms, as the hotel is a popular venue for weddings etc
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Excellent service, excellent room, rather special, four poster bed on raised dais, along with a private sitting area. The soft lighting added to the atmosphere, well it is an ancient building.
The staff could not have been better! We also hired a private dining room "The Gilt Room" for a family gathering, dedicated waiter, with the manager popping in regularly to ensure all was well. We had a 7 month old baby and a 7 year old young man with us, both were treated extremely well with food being specially prepared for the baby and a lovely meal for our eldest grandson.
We cannot fault this, our Castle Home for a short while! Our son and his wife had his wedding reception here 10 years ago and they were remembered by David who coordinated their reception!!!

Room Tip: Request a feature Castle room, for that very special occasion (honeymoon)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslandgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We decided to stay here so that we could finally say that we stayed at a castle and were happy with our accommodations. The room was dimly lit but that just added to the atomsphere, we found it clean and well decorated. The grounds were nice and the courtyards very pretty in the evening. The breakfast was good and we did not have any issues with service. In summary we enjoyed the stay and would recommend this hotel to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAKMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews