We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elizabethan banquet and overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As a special treat and for something really different we recently indulged ourselves in an Elizabethan Banquet at Lumley Castle, near Chester-le-Street, and just off the A1. Initially the night we booked was cancelled, so being able to move to another night easily, we were offered a room upgrade (into the castle), two free drinks each, and £10 each off overnight accommodation (which I strongly recommend). These gestures were greatly appreciated and made us feel wanted, even though we were only a booking of two where larger groups predominate
The treat commenced for us, booking in at 3pm and being shown to a show-stopper of a room. Across court yards, up and down stairs and past acres off wood paneling we arrived in room 43, with a more than adequate share of wood paneling itself. En route we gained a taste of part of the interior of the castle and for larger 'do's' it looked lovely. The room was complete with four poster bed, higher off the floor than I expected, but manageable and a large bath inset into the room, but with totally enclosed curtains if required. The room was darker than I normally would like, but after all we were in a castle, my only reflection was that reading was difficult.
The banquet itself started with drinks in the Baron's bar, where we were left a little too long, but then I do not drink, so it was not my thing. Eventually, we were shown into the reasonably imposing Banqueting Hall by a group of ladies dressed in Elizabethan manner and ushered by a jovial Master of Ceremonies, who presided over us for the rest of the night. If you want a change, which includes simple food of average quality, albeit five courses,excused perhaps by being 'Elizabethan' and utlising only a somewhat blunt knife, then this could be for you. The entertainment was enthusiastic undertaken and the group of lady singers did their job well; their harmony was delightful. The two gentlemen, the 'jester', not dressed for the part (unfortunately) and the MC did a splendid job keeping the banqueters happy. The meal lasted from about 8pm until 11pm, when a disco was on offer. We retired by then. The room was comfortable without being ostentatious and the breakfast was as good as any 4 star hotel I have used, with a good supply of fruit and a lovely individually cooked hot breakfast with decent choice, and served on a hot plate. We left straight after breakfast though the room was ours until 11am. Whilst I would not repeat the Banquet, the hotel can be heartily recommended.

Room Tip: Maybe a new room in the Courtyard would be better value - our castle room was an experience, but suf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,879 - 1,883 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at Lmley Castle for one evening. What a great place, right from checking in the reception staff in full 14th centuary dress. We stayed in room 41 a court yard bedroom ( the old stables) very comfortable done in an old english style except for the large modern TV but nessesary in these modern times, the mattress was disapointing quite hard. We were next to the main door into our block of rooms so we had noise from the door openignd closing and people going up and down the stairs. To get to breakfast in the Black Knight restaurant you have to wander through the castle halls a corridors out into the central court yard, very interesting. Continental breakfast was included in the price, a full english was an additional £15 each!!. All in all an exellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here for one night following a wedding. The hotel was gorgeous (although it was easy to get lost with all the different rooms!). Our room was lovely - lots of character and different to anywhere we've stayed before. Decent nights sleep although you could hear noise from nearby rooms. The breakfast was included in the rate and was very nice with a wide variety of options. The 11am check out was good as it meant we weren't dashing to get breakfast then check out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twentysomething09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we arrived to our room at 3pm which was check in time and room was not ready so we waited and had walk round castle which is lovely when we finally got in room there were dark hairs in bathroom and in bath the cleaner came back and hoovered them up we had no apology from any of staff the room was small and the shower door was broke so the bathroom floor got flooded when we had showers the shower head is very low and you had duck down to wash your hair not what we expected from the price we paid to stay here on the plus side the breakfast was lovely. We decided not eat the evening meal here after we saw the prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was full of character, the staff were so attentive & friendly without being imposing. The restaurant was excellent, especially the breakfasts and the service very efficient - the only thing that was a bit annoying was on one of the nights the restaurant was fully booked and they only do sandwiches in the bar. Instead they have a lounge area where you can watch tele and phone for hotmeals and drinks. This was fine but the menu only has 4 things on it - food was excellent though. The rooms were great and the bed was so comfy - only minor thing was the room was a little dark for putting on your make-up! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMaca170726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
8.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.7 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
7.0 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
8.5 km away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
8.2 km away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: ₹ 5,343 - ₹ 15,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing