We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moor End Guest House
Ranked #2 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. What a perfect spot. We received a warm welcome and everything was well explained. Our room no 4 was a spacious warm and welcoming room beautifully decorated and such a comfy bed. A great tastey breakfast too. Have already recommended this b and b to friends. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    47
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
84
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed on Wed 1st Feb 2012 in room 3 for one night for business trip. Martin was friendly and greeted me by name on arrival, explained everything before showing me to the room.

Very comfortable and spacious room. Ironing board and steam iron provided promptly on request. Bed was a little short for me, and the shower wasn't as powerful as hoped, but not a great deal anyone can do about that.

That said, the room was clean, well presented and warm, which in February is necessary! Overlooked the front of the building onto a main road, which during the day is busy, but at night isn't at all. Walked 10 minutes down the road to great restaurant, and Spar nearby for bits. Prompt check out and really tasty cooked breakfast.

Would recommend B&C taxis - They were brilliant. Ask for Gordon. Him and Martin know each other, so was good to see excellent service knows good friends! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetHelpDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My four night stay at Moor End was great. It was quiet, clean, and charming. The spacious but cozy room had a fireplace and windowseat, and a very comfortable queensize bed. The hosts were helpful and friendly, and never intrusive. The only drawback is the location - not much is within walking distance but the bus service to Durham is convenient.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have got 2 months work in Durham at the hospital, and coming back to Moor End is fantastic at the end of the day! The room I have stayed is contemporary, yet tips the hat to the age of the house. The bed is really comfy, flat screen tv and a sofa which is ideal for relaxing & doing work on my laptop, oh a bit of Facebook too!

The only reason I've not marked a 5 out of 5 is that I have not had a full English, as I am out too early, but Martin does make a nice cuppa for me!!

Room Tip: I've stayed in the loft room, it's very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Spent two nights at the Moor End House while visiting Durham, Newcastle and Tynemouth. Nice atmosphere, clean accommodations, friendly service and excellent breakfasts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
3.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.9 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.4 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.7 km away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#4 of 39 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moor End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moor End Guest House

Property: Moor End Guest House
Address: Moor End House, Durham DH1 1BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,353 - ₹ 9,205
Hotel Class:4 star — Moor End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor End Guest House has been awarded a 4 star rating by Quality in Tourism. It has two double en suite rooms, two twin en suite rooms and a family room for up to two adults and up to two well behaved children aged between 5 and 16 years old. It is located two miles east of the city centre, just off junction 62 of the A1(M), 5 mins drive from the city centre, 10 mins by bus or 30 mins walk. There is free car parking and a free electric vehicle charging point. The rooms have free WiFi, 26" flat screen freeview TVs and complimentary tea and coffee. Check in is strictly between 16.00Hrs and 19.00Hrs on day of arrival unless by prior arrangement prior to booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moor End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moor End House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing