We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute gem!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marsh Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
superspik...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed at Marsh Cottage over the Bank Holiday weekend with my husband, our two daughters, their partners and our two Golden Retrievers. The whole party absolutely loved it and we can't wait to go back, maybe when the weather is colder so that we can try out the wood burning stove! Other reviewers have mentioned the welcome bottle of wine but there were also fresh flowers on the table, milk in the fridge and little bags of gravy bones for the dogs. Such thoughtful touches. I would thoroughly recommend Marsh Cottage to groups of all ages and have already done so to my extended family and friends. Thank you, Clare.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you Sarah, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for recommending us to your friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Marsh Cottage in July 2015 and thought it was excellent. Well-equipped and comfortable with nice touches such as a bottle of wine waiting for us on arrival. Our two older children particularly loved the Wii in the games room. The only thing we would say - and this not a criticism of the property - is that we found the location to be a little remote and that car journeys to local attractions were often longer than we would have liked, however I'm sure this wouldn't be a problem for other visitors. Otherwise, we had a fantastic time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space and the games room
Liked least: The location wasn't ideal for us
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainSq...
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Stylish, well equipped, very peaceful, spacious, lovely safe garden.”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great cottage, spacious, well presented, well equipped and clean. Set in lovely garden , down a very quiet lane with easy parking. Not far from some lovely sandy beaches which are also dog friendly throughout the summer. Plenty of cafes etc in Bideford and a few good local pubs. One is walkable form the cottage, across fields.
One of the better cottages we have stayed in and will return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_Botter
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lot of cottage for your money”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spend just under a week inside this cottage, which truly was the most quiet we've ever been to -the only thing you hear are the birds in the garden! There's a lot of space both inside and outside the house, which makes it ideal for (larger) families to visit. The communication with the owner was fast and clear. Because of the multiple bedrooms, there is a selection of beds to choose from (of course we've tried them all :-), and although the quality of the beds was overall good we have had better. The large spaceous kitchen is the proud and joy of the house, and really has everything you need to prepare a meal. Finally, there's a "games room" which features a Wii, board games and toys for kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space inside the house, the private garden, the large parking space, the quiet location
Liked least: Some of the beds could do with a new mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen T
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thought of everything”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here in April 2015. We were with 5 adults (one elderly), 2 toddlers, a baby and a dog! The owner has thought of everything. From a fully equipped kitchen to games for inside and out. The whole place just feels very homey. I would not hesitate to stay again if I was in the area.

The ONLY disappointing thing for us was the shower situation. When you're all trying to get out and have to use the showers one at a time, it is a little frustrating. I would highly recommend they look at getting this sorted as it was the only blight in an otherwise fantastic stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing