We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastbourne Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Me and my wife have just come back from a break at the Eastbourne House in Bowness. We travelled up on Friday night to be welcomed by the house owner via an intercom!! It was funny but a friendly way to start, but Martin (house owner) buzzed us in and let us in to our fantastic room. There are loads of things to do in bowness at night, we went to the Albert Pub for a nice meal and a few real ales!! Saturday morning we were given a warm welcome and a full English, fresh tea and coffee and fresh orange and apple juice and hot toast! We went for a lovely walk on the other side of the lake that day and then came back to bowness for some hot soup and a hot chocolate!! Saturday night we went to the lighthouse restaurant in windermere for a lovely meal followed by a few more ales!!! Sunday morning we were given another warm welcome and another hot full English breakfast, the hotel is great, a good nights sleep, comfy bed and a nice warm room!! Highly recommended....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trickydolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    65
    31
    11
    13
See reviews for
14
195
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
strathaven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

had a lovely two night stay in a very clean and tidy guest house the staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was ideal and set you up for the day could not fault anything at all

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here last week for 3 nights. Very comfy memory foam mattress on a Queen bed...slept really well. Lovely large room & very well equipped with a big TV in the corner & 3 seater sofa, almost a bedsit! Beautiful, fully tiled bathroom with VERY hot water!! (jus one query..why is the sink so low?). Superb shower & piping hot radiator/towel warmer thingy. All very clean and well kept. Martin is a real charmer and cooks the best breakfast using local 'Windermere made' sausages (pork & leek the nicest we thought!). Would have liked table cloths but that's just me. His partner Marina scurries around serving breakfasts and servicing the rooms. Very pleasant surroundings with lots of info for visitors in the hall and brollies to use should it rain. Also please note there is plenty of private parking! Just a minutes walk to the main street & shops/restaurants. Two minutes walk to the Lake & hundreds of swans!! Boat trips all over the lake..take a trip!
Highly recommended, will be returing later in the year. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Just tell Martin your needs/preferences and he will advise by email immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Booked for a few days to celebrate my birthday. Had read the trip advisor reviews and was sufficiently happy to book. Would quite happily give 5 *'s but for a few issues such as getting burnt by the towel rail in the on-suite of room, as its a little small. Had a lovely stay and would happily stay again. Thanks Martin and Marina.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marabunta86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for just 1 night but it was wonderful. Once we had got our heads around being welcomed by intercom (which works well and is a great idea once you get used to it) the room was superb, calming,clean, warm and very tasteful. Every detail was thought through, for example not just tea and coffee in the rooms but hot choc, green tea and herbal tea. The bed was amazingly plush and soft with plentiful thick feather pillows. The bathroom looked brand spanking new and I could have stayed in the power shower all day. As it's a kid free hotel it's quiet and peaceful - I don't object to kids, indeed I have 2 (they were with Nanny) but it was a blessed relief to experience such peace for the first time in 5 or so years! The breakfast was a highlight - again every thing was plentiful and nothing too much trouble. Pastries, yogurts, fruit, cereal were all a help yourself extravaganza then a full cooked breakfast with all the trimmings, toast, coffee, tea and juice. I didn't need to eat for a week! Thank you so much - we do hope to come back if we can convince Nanny to babysit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 km away
Number 80
Number 80
#21 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 km away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 km away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#20 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 km away
The Old Court House
The Old Court House
#32 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,581 - ₹ 8,770
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing