We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“EXCELLENT B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastbourne Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eastbourne Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here last week for 3 nights. Very comfy memory foam mattress on a Queen bed...slept really well. Lovely large room & very well equipped with a big TV in the corner & 3 seater sofa, almost a bedsit! Beautiful, fully tiled bathroom with VERY hot water!! (jus one query..why is the sink so low?). Superb shower & piping hot radiator/towel warmer thingy. All very clean and well kept. Martin is a real charmer and cooks the best breakfast using local 'Windermere made' sausages (pork & leek the nicest we thought!). Would have liked table cloths but that's just me. His partner Marina scurries around serving breakfasts and servicing the rooms. Very pleasant surroundings with lots of info for visitors in the hall and brollies to use should it rain. Also please note there is plenty of private parking! Just a minutes walk to the main street & shops/restaurants. Two minutes walk to the Lake & hundreds of swans!! Boat trips all over the lake..take a trip!
Highly recommended, will be returing later in the year. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Just tell Martin your needs/preferences and he will advise by email immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    63
    30
    9
    12
See reviews for
13
187
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Booked for a few days to celebrate my birthday. Had read the trip advisor reviews and was sufficiently happy to book. Would quite happily give 5 *'s but for a few issues such as getting burnt by the towel rail in the on-suite of room, as its a little small. Had a lovely stay and would happily stay again. Thanks Martin and Marina.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marabunta86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for just 1 night but it was wonderful. Once we had got our heads around being welcomed by intercom (which works well and is a great idea once you get used to it) the room was superb, calming,clean, warm and very tasteful. Every detail was thought through, for example not just tea and coffee in the rooms but hot choc, green tea and herbal tea. The bed was amazingly plush and soft with plentiful thick feather pillows. The bathroom looked brand spanking new and I could have stayed in the power shower all day. As it's a kid free hotel it's quiet and peaceful - I don't object to kids, indeed I have 2 (they were with Nanny) but it was a blessed relief to experience such peace for the first time in 5 or so years! The breakfast was a highlight - again every thing was plentiful and nothing too much trouble. Pastries, yogurts, fruit, cereal were all a help yourself extravaganza then a full cooked breakfast with all the trimmings, toast, coffee, tea and juice. I didn't need to eat for a week! Thank you so much - we do hope to come back if we can convince Nanny to babysit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Have just arrived home from a lovely weekend staying at the Eastbourne Guest House. From meeting Martin the owner at booking in to leaving was great. Our room was exceptionally clean, the bed was luxurious, the shower brilliant. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast and we were even offered seconds {never had that before]. Nothing was to much trouble for Martin, we were made to feel extremely welcome. We certainly would not hesitate in recommending this guest house to anybody and we will certainly be returning there again. Thanks very much for a brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

we would just like to give the eastbourne guest house in bownwss ten out of ten for everything and we will be going back shortly, a speacial thanks to martyn the co owner for his pleasant and friendly manner even though he did forget to put the radio in the breakfast room on sat morning, sorry martyn ha ha , ihope marina dosnt read this, only joking, once again thanks again looking forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.2 km away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 km away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#31 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 km away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#20 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,438 - ₹ 8,261
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing