We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
124
22
8
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
22
8
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostssitting arearecommend this b b to anyonecar parkbiscuitsrooms are cleantea and coffeebed and breakfasttop floorfeel very welcomecooked to perfectionfriendly hostswarm welcomeperfect locationlong weekendcooked breakfastlake
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed there twice and would love to go back again. The food is really good. The rooms are nice and cosy.The place is very close to the lake. The parking is just behind the building.
The hosts are very nice and make you feel at home.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank FarAway259642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Visited this guesthouse for the 3rd time. Now owned by a lovely couple, who also own Field House (a couple of doors away). Really nice big rooms with a sitting area and window overlooking the lake. well positioned in Bowness, only a couple of minutes from all the bars, restaurants and shops.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank shirls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We have just returned from a relaxing weekend in the Lakes. Lake View lived up to all our expectations. Food, comfort and cleanliness were 5 star and the owners were very accommodating. (wouldn't expect anything different from 3 fellow scousers)

Stayed: February 2016
Thank exects334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

lovely stay, very comfortable and clean. Kids felt really at home at still miss the owners and his breakfast. very central to all local shops and restaurants. this b@ b is very small ,cosy and people are very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maltaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We spent 2 nights at the Lake View Guest House last weekend (May 2015). Overall I'm slightly bemused by the 5 star reviews this place gets on here.

Firstly, though, it's in an amazing location, right in the middle of Bowness, with masses of cafes, restaurants, shops next door, and the lake and boats only 1 minute walk away.

The outside of the B&B is very pretty. The room we booked (family room) looked a little tired, in need of updating, although it was very clean.

The most memorable thing about the place though was the very lumpy, uncomfortable mattresses. I don't mind the place not having flat-screen TV, but a comfy night's sleep really is a priority for me - sadly I didn't get that.
Also, the curtains did absolutely nothing to stop the sunlight in the morning - meaning it was light in the room at 5am.
When nothing has been updated for a long time, it made me wonder what I'm spending my money on...

The hosts seemed nice enough. The breakfast was ok, but nothing special, in contrast to some reviews here. The sausages seemed overcooked, but the eggs were good. There wasn't any fresh (or other) fruit on offer. Meh.

They provided a fridge in the room, with fresh milk, which was a nice touch.

We'll definitely be coming back to Bowness, but not staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackbean80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews