We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality interior in an excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakthwaite Lodge

Bowness Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bowness Bay
Patio Area Lakeland
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Bowness Bay
Patio Area
Lakeland
Bowness on Windermere
Grasmere
Exterior
Lodge Bathroom
Kitchen
Lake Windermere from Ambleside
Lounge updated
Millerground, Lake Windermere
Lake Windermere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark J
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quality interior in an excellent location”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Oakthwaite Lodge which was just for a weekend. We travelled by train but found the Lodge easily ten minutes on foot from the station and located perfectly for ambles into either Windermere or Bowness on an evening. The Lodge is decorated superbly and finished to a high standard. Just lazing about on the ridiculously comfy and large L-shaped sofa made for a relaxing holiday. We found ourselves choosing to stay in one night just to enjoy the Lodge. Everything necessary was provided, including simple touches such as milk in the fridge, biscuits for your brew and washing-up liquid.

My only complaint that didn't make this a 5 star stay was it's presentation on the website as a detached bungalow, making us believe that this was stand-out in it's own grounds. The Lodge is in fact in the grounds of another B&B. Because of this, though you feel isolated once inside the Lodge, we found ourselves drawing the curtain over the front door most of the time as B&B guests would peer through it, and some would park outside the door. It wasn't a huge issue, but be aware if you are looking for somewhere specifically isolated for yourselves. I would still happily return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are delighted you both had such a lovely weekend.We apologise if the photos do not clearly show there is a neighbouring property within the grounds. The photo taken from the rear patio does only show part of the neighbouring building. There is a high hedge next to the lodge parking area which affords lodge guests privacy but thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewineki...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Oakthwaite Lodge had the best of reviews which is why we decided to try it. It beat all our expectations in every way it was perfect and to be honest I cannot say more it just had everything needed to make the perfect holiday break from the owners to the furnishings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing too dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2013
Thank you do much for such a glowing review and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable. Great place.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We would certainly look to go back again in the future. We enjoyed our stay and Deborah was very helpful.
Detached property set in its own grounds with nice private patio to the rear.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peaceful.
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is top class!
Liked least: Going home afterwards!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing