We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to rest in the Lake District” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
South of England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A nice place to rest in the Lake District”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Hydro in April this year. The first impressions as you park at the hotel is that it has seen better days and looks shabby. It has an enviable location in Bowness just up a hill from the main shopping area and lake side. The hotel is large and spread out over the original building and various built on extensions. The reception staff are very helpful and our initial room was on the first floor. On entering it we immediately smelt cigarette smoke and as this is supposed to be a no smoking hotel, declined the room. We were immediately received an apology and given a room on the top (third) floor which was small but clean and served our requirements. Be aware that the lift in the rear part of the hotel does not go to the ground floor and so you will need to carry your bags up a small flight of stairs to get to the lift.
The whole hotel is in need of some investment and a face lift as it is showing its age. There are large public rooms that can accommodate parties and special dinner receptions and there are small quiet rooms especially around the bar area that are a welcome bolt hole if needed. The lounges are lovely and homely with a real coal fire in one of them. The restaurant is large and the staff are hard working and courteous. The food was varied and generally very good although the breakfasts were repetitive in content. Over all the Hydro is a good 3 star hotel and a good place to stay if visiting the Windermere area. It has a certain charm and the staff work hard to make your welcome. It does need some investment both inside and out but apart from the look it ticks all the boxes for service and charm and for me value for money.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the hotel have views towards the lake and mountains. It is worth asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thefamilyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    257
    190
    112
    124
See reviews for
114
451
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The first time we stayed at the Hydro (in Sept 2011) it was fantastic the staff were very attentive, the accomadation was lovely (rooms a bit dated but clean and with plenty of character), it is a brilliant location and best of all the food was amazing. Myself and my daughter couldn't wait to go back.

This time we booked it as a treat for my mum and dad as well. We found a deal on a discount website so we booked it. We were so excited about going back but our excitement soon faded on arrival!!

When we checked in we were told we could only book a 5 course taster menu for £25 for dinner!! This was ridiculous, none of us could eat a 5 course meal plus they didn't do a childrens menu so I would have to pay that for my daughter as well. After lots of discussions the receptionist said we could have the 3 course meal for £18.95!! This was still ridiculous as we only wanted a main meal or we might have been tempted with a starter but we are not pudding eaters, we either had to have a 5 course set meal or 3 course! This was so annoying as one of the reasons we returned was for the food.

That night we had dinner down the road but the 2nd night we were told we could have bar snacks so decided to do this. We then realised bar snacks finished at 6pm!!! It was a bit early for bar snacks to end so again after lots of discussions we managed to order bar meals but again I had to pay full price for my daughter as there was no childrens menu and they wouldn't half the portion.

We also had interconnecting rooms and kept asking for the key and never got it. The wallpaper was coming off the walls (not just a little bit!) the carpet was like a thick shag pile and who know what was inside it!!

Booking through a discount website we felt like we were not treated like normal hotel guests we felt like second rate citizens and didn't get a good service (when we booked before we booked through the hotel and that was about the same price as our discount deal anyway) so we shouldn't have been treated any different.

POINTS TO NOTE:
1. There are no facilities for younger children, there is no childrens menu (which would not be hard to do), no playrooms (but there is enough rooms for one) nothing to welcome young families
2. The hotel caters more for the elderly.
3. The TV's are soooo dated we even found a TV room but the colour made it unwatchable.
4. There is no evening entertainment (only for coach parties)
5. They had an open fire in one of the rooms which was lovely but we couldn't get near it as there were people there with their dogs (3!) sat infront of the fire.

OVERALL

I think there are a lot of wasted opportunites at this hotel, like putting in a pool table in one of the many rooms, offering a childrens menu and putting more on for children i.e have a cosy room with story time in the evening, have things to do in the evening like bingo etc in one of the many funtion rooms. This is definately not a family friendly hotel!

This hotel has a lovely location but remember you only get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank hev444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

just spent weekend at hydro hotel in room no 93 ,it was a disgrace bed cover looked about twenty years old very shabby and worn room smelt very musty needed a good paint .although room was clean it felt vey dirty .would not recomend hotel and would not book again.dining room staff very pleasant and hard working .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I attended both a dinner party on 23rd March and a large function on Saturday 24th March.The hotel was busy with other events and guests, however, the patience and performance of all the staff and management went beyond what might have been expected under the circumstances.The staff are well organised for functions and the kitchen performed to a very high standard.Andy the chef put in an appearance in his kilt outfit much to the delight of the assembled gathering.The whole hotel seemed to ' get on board' for the Highland Hospitality charity event on the Saturday and we are already planning to repeat this occasion in two years time.To Ken, Joe,Andy, Tracy many thanks for all the help, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed for weekend function. Room was okay very very hot. Bathroom light was awful. I agree with energy saving bulbs but not in windowless room! Therefore could not comment on bathroom cleanliness! Appeared to be okay. Beds comfortable. The food at the function was excellent. Well served hot and plentiful. Selection of wines reasonably priced. Breakfast was rather disappointing but there was a good selection of hot stuff self service but a bit of a fight for taoster and staff poured coffee tea rather that leaving pots so it was a matter of waving arms about to grab attention. Would stay again if in same location as it was near to town centre and did have views of the Lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gudtripper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.7 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.5 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.8 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.5 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,163 - ₹ 31,307
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing