We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of HONEYPOT COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharonsha...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have just arrived back from a lovely weekend in honeypot cottage. Once I had parked the car in the space provided which was right next to the gate, great for taking your things in. The car never moved until we were leaving as this cottage is set in an excellent location. Walking distance to amazing restaurants and bars. The cottage was also well equipped, they had everything you need & more. Very clean, the beds were also comfortable. Only thing to remember when booking is take your towels. I am definitely going to recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly situated cottage in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from Honeypot Cottage in Bowness-on-Windermere and was very impressed. Within a minutes walk from the cottage you are in the centre of Bowness with it's beautiful boutiques, cafes and restaurants, it really could not be better placed. The cottage is really well appointed with 3 double bedrooms, a large living area, fitted kitchen, inside dining area and lovely outside decked sittings area.

The cottage has it's own parking area so you can park your car and start enjoying your stay with no car parking issues to worry about.

When we return to The Lakes we will definitely be booking Honeypot Cottage again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: No Wi-Fi Internet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort and quiet in Bowness”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a three night stay at Honeypot Cottage with my sister and Mum, who walks with a stick. We had a lovely stay.

On arrival, we found it hard to locate our cottage but found the rear car park and went from there. The ramp up to the car park is very steep and uneven and needed a good run-up! Having parked, we found the back entrance of the cottage. The wooden steps are very steep and slippy and it took us a long time to help Mum down to the deck. Some steps are extremely deep. They lead to a wonderfully decked area built into the rock face with outdoor seating, which is very appealing. We got Mum in eventually and let ourselves in to the living area, which was clean, warm and tidy. We were pleased to discover a front door, meaning Mum would not have to face the rear steps again! A good job!

The main living area is very comfortable and is open plan, allowing easy access to the kitchen area which is well equipped. The under-counter fridge suited us well but is rather small if there are more than 3-4 of you. It took us a while to turn the TV on and for some time we only had radio but with the right remote (one of 5), we cracked it! The leather sofa and chairs were very comfortable for the three of us although they'd be a squeeze for six people. We also wondered where the usual leaflets to local sights were before discovering the coffee table is actually a drawer!

Upstairs is the attic bedroom, a good-sized room with its own en suite toilet and sink, which is minute! You do have to be quite flexible to use it and I had to stand outside the door to use the sink but it's serviceable! The bed was very comfortable for me although it is not attached to the headboard and is on wheels as I found out the first night as I tried to sit up and ended up wheeling away from the wall! However, I had three good nights' sleep here.

The lower ground floor has two smaller bedrooms and a roomy bathroom which were cosy, clean and attractive. The front door is also on this level and although there are some stone steps up to street level on leaving the cottage, they are few and were much easier to navigate for my mother and her walking stick. Once out of the cottage and down the hill, the town centre is easily accessible with its many restaurants, pubs and shops. We also had easy access to the pier to take boat trips along Lake Windermere.

All in all, we had a great stay in Honeypot Cottage, which is extremely quiet considering its excellent central location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyJan...
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Brilliant location!! Fantastic cottage!!”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is just superb! Set on three floors it is extremely spacious and very well equipped. The property is very warm, homely and beautifully clean.The first car parking space is directly ahead of you as you go up the steep hill to the cottages, do not veer to the right. Be careful not to catch your car door on the bollard when opening, it is tight and can be difficult to see. The second space is adjacent to the decking. Really good to get two car spaces in the middle of Bowness!! This cottage is in a perfect location just across the road is a fantastic bistro called Jacksons Bistro.. the food was superb! They do a two course menu for £14 and three for £17 it was really great food the house wine whilst not particularly cheap, but good quality. Definitely visit The Hole in the Wall pub.. it is renown..serves great food and has a fab, true English pub atmosphere. We also ate at The Albert which won Tripadvisor Restaurant of the year 2015. We took a boat trip to Ambleside across Windermere for £10.50 return the views and scenery were stunning.. well worth the trip a great day out. Loved this cottage experience would recommend it to anyone.. ideal for three couples..remember to pack your own towels. Book you won't be disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Y
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here from Fri 9th of October to Sun 11th, we travelled, two families as a group of 6. The location of this cottage is amazing, right in the centre of Bowness but tucked away so it really is very peacefull. The cottage is perfectly sized for 6 with loads of space, a good sized kitchen and a large bathroom downstaires, bath, shower toilet, and a smaller bathroom upstaires toilet and basin. With the lovey pub next door and loads of very good restaurants just around the corner this place is perfect, we all had a brilliant stay and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Decking to the rear, access to the carpark is steep, so may put some off
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing