We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed here in March as part of the KGB deals offer but upgraded the room to a superior room which was on the top floor and had a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel is beautiful and the service fabulous. The food in the restaurant is well recommended and I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldcrest123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    218
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
103
713
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Booked in for a two night stay to celebrate our marriage! The location is good if you like views and gardens, not so good if you like to be in the thick of it! We cabbed it to and from the village each night and cost around £4. The room was lovely, huge bed, our room was on the ground floor and was a bit noisy! The staff were lovely, especially Martin the night porter/barman! Breakfast was ok, not as good as some places! We didn't eat dinner there but believe the food is good and the evening menu looked nice!
We would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melistockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Having visited The Lakes only once before, I was keen to come back with my husband and show him this beautiful place.
The hotel management couldn't do enough for us. The room was luxurious and the food to die for.
I would absolutely recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnVacationUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just returned from lovely stay at the beautiful Fayrer Garden House Hotel. Perfect accommodation, beautiful location and the staff so friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanuts49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

At the suggestion of friends, we stayed in the Fayrer Hotel with them for a couple of nights in February. Beautifully situated, with attractive gardens and a view over to the lake, this hotel was really well presented. Staff were very polite and helpful. Our room overlloked the garden to the rear. It was extremely clean and the bathroom, although small was well appointed with a corner bath. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Our main reason for staying here was the package which included a 5 course meal every night. Each course well beautifully cooked and presented and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The lounge where we retired for coffee post dinner, was very comfortable with squashy sofas to sink into.

Only negative - there is no lift to the first floor. There is a room on the ground floor which is suitable for disabled access. There were spa facilities available at a nearby hotel.

Room Tip: If unable to tackle stairs ask for the ground floor room as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossomcat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
1.6 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
960 reviews
1.2 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
1.5 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,510 - ₹ 17,736
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing