We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, helpful staff, but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, helpful staff, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Upside: Wonderful setting right on Lake Windermere. We requested a lake view and stayed in a lovely room (145) for 2 nights to attend a family wedding. Our family stayed in 2 other rooms, which did not have a lake view but were large and well furnished. All our rooms were clean and very comfortable. High quality bathroom products. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. All staff polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Downside: Expensive. Expect London prices for rooms, food and drink. The shower, although good would have been difficult for less able people to access. High step up and narrow door, which opened outwards and dripped water all over the floor.
Poor choice for dinner. We are not fussy eaters, but found it difficult to find something we wanted. Steaks tough. There was Internet access in the rooms, but no wifi. This is a major minus for such an expensive hotel. Wifi is an expectation these days in all rooms, in quality hotels. Our bill for 3 rooms for 2 nights was £1100+, although this included some drinks and dinner. Yet, I was expected to pay a £2 charge for using a credit card. I stay in many major hotels around the world and have never been asked to pay this before. I know it's petty, but I disputed this and the receptionist agreed to waive the charge.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim_sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    791
    415
    199
    125
See reviews for
440
1,605
41
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I am only commenting on the spa as we did not stay in the hotel. The spa is quite new so the quality is very high but I would not recommned it as a the main point of a break. It is basically a pool with 2 small rooms, one a sauna the other a steam room. There are only 4 loungers. The main problem was the fact kids were aloud to use the "Spa". There is no age limit and no members of staff around other than at the desk so children were running, jumping, diving, shouting and generally having a great time. Reminded me more of a pool at the local leisure centre or a 3 star package deal in Majorca only without a lifeguard. If you want a relaxing spa experience this is definitely not it. Choose an adults only. Might be better mid-week. They seem to do a lot weddings at weekends, the hotel was very busy with guests leaving. We were going to have a coffee in the lounge but were put off by the lad fast asleep on the sofa with his boxer shorts hanging out. suspect he was a wedding guest - staff ignored him. We moved on.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank basnettma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the old England on a number of occasions over the past 4 years. We actually got married here in August 2008 & have returned at least twice a year to visit. This hotel really does tick all the boxes. The location is simply breathtaking & when you actually take a moment to sit back and take in the view of the lake, you realise that you cannot really put a price on staying here! I have stayed in many different rooms and can honestly say that there isn't a bad room. A tip for anyone making a reservation for the first time would be to ask for a lakeside view room and make sure you ask for a room in the "renovated section". The bathrooms are devine and equipped to a really high standard. Everything u would want or need is in your room - bath robes, slippers, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, complimentary water, fridge, coffee/tea facilities etc.
The spa is just beautiful and really worth a visit, even If it's just for a quick swim and a visit to the sauna/steam room. I have had treatments, and yes they are expensive, but no dearer than what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
The breakfast is absolutely scrumptious and it's taken by order, so no buffet style full English, but a personal order which is taken and the choice is excellent and varied. You will leave in the morning feeling full!

Overall, always a consistently wonderful stay. Great rooms, attentive staff where nothing is too much trouble, perfect location with stunning views and plenty to do just on your doorstep. Great place to come as a treat.

Can't fault the wedding service - first class! We used Michelle who is the hotel wedding planner; she was amazing and looked after us really well.
We will continue to visit and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a very pleasant stay, couldn't really fault the hotel. The weather was terrible, but that been the case for much of the summer. Breakfast was good,loads of choice available, on both morning's had a table with a lovely view of the lake, and the service was fine. Also enjoyed the pool, steam and sauna.

Room Tip: Didn't have lake view, but just as well as it was very misty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank materialgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at the Old England to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From arrival to checkout, the staff were excellent. We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite overlooking Lake Windermere, it was absolutely stunning. Food excellent, cleanliness spotless and the whole hotel both inside and out was wonderful.

Room Tip: Lake views are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herindoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.4 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.6 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
9.7 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,008 - ₹ 21,613
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing