We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

Booked two nights B&B,first night dinner with Superbreak.Was not looking forward to the valet parking,but it was fine.The car park we used was no more than 150 yards away.Our room overlooked the lake and can best be described as excellent.Dinner was not. There was a choice of four starters,plus soup.I am allergic to fish/seafood and hate squash with a passion.That left a choice of two.Likewise dessert,a choice of three plus cheese. The restaurant is huge with no shortage of diners;I fail to understand why the menu is so small.
Breakfast rated as among the best we have been served anywhere.Without exception,the staff were cheerful and gave the impression that they enjoyed their job.Particular mention must go to Paul on reception,who without asking changed our room as the one allocated was less suitable for those with mobility issues.(I walk with a stick)
Two minor niggles.On ordering gin&tonic,I do not expect premium gin and certainly not to be charged without being asked.
We were charged an excess for additional cost over that allowed for dinner.This was minimal but nowhere was it stated that there was an allowance.
All in all my wife and I were very happy with our stay and would certainly return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alancgreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    855
    456
    225
    141
See reviews for
486
1,749
46
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

What a beautiful place, a very grand entrance and well turned out staff everywhere, we were really looking forward to a bit of a treat at the spa here. After finding our way along the corridors of the hotel we were greeted by a very non plus member of staff at the reception, no smile, towels plonked onto the counter and we were pointed to the changing rooms. The facilities were basic, pool, steam and sauna, everything looked a little grubby, the windows that have the most magnificent view out to the pier and lake but were filthy and glasses and crockery left out on the terrace. I think it would be nice if you were staying at the hotel as an added extra but don't bother otherwise. There are lots of fantastic spas around the Lakes, The Salutation in Ambleside being one of my favorites, and how they are charging £59.00 a month here for membership I will never understand!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Like other reviewers we found the experience at the old England to be first class. The attention to detail from all staff made our time even more special.
Thankyou . We hope to return back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights after Easter with our 12yr old daughter. Hotel is very good, the spa facilities are excellent. Our only gripe is service at breakfast, it's very slow, we had to chase up service every day. Also, the toast is undercooked and not very hot. Other than that, no complaints.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a long, relaxing weekend and could not fault it on any level. The hotel itself is beautifully presented, with a large lounge area. There is a bar with an outside terrace which overlooks the lake and is lovely for having a drink or something to eat. The hotel is located right on the edge of the lake and it is in the centre of the town, so the shops and restaurants are literally on your doorstep. However, it is the exceptional service which sets this hotel apart. The reception staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful - even upgrading our room! I would also recommend making full use of the spa and indoor swimming pool. The facilities are beautiful and I had the best facial and massage I have ever had! Breakfast and dinner were included in the price we had paid and the food is of a very high standard. Again, the dining staff were friendly, without being intrusive, and nothing was too much trouble. The dining room overlooks the lake and it is worth asking for one of the window tables when you book, to ensure that you get the best view. This hotel is an absolute gem and I would recommend it to anyone, but especially couples looking for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and ask for a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
409 reviews
1.5 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
1.6 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,740 - ₹ 27,614
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing