We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in the UK”
Review of May Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
May Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in the UK”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have just spent 2 months on a driving holiday around the UK, staying in mainly B & B's. May Cottage stood out as the best by far. Our hosts Sue and Len made us feel like part of the family and went out of their way to welcome us to the beautiful "lakes district". From the welcome warm drink on arrival, clean, comfortable rooms and modern bathrooms to the best breakfast ever, we could not have been happier with our choice to stay at May Cottage. We will be back !!!!!

Room Tip: Our top floor room 3 was light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
173
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Recently spent 3 nights at May Cottage during our travels around England. Sue and Len are supurb host and full of wonderful suggestions and recommendations for sightseeing around the Lakes District. The rooms are warm and cosy, breakfast just great and the home is just a few minutes walk from the lake and the shops .Great hosts, great B and B ,looking forward to our returning

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mydollsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton in Makerfield, Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

It's been a long time since we've had a weekend away in our own country, as t'other half is reluctant to go anywhere unless there's guaranteed sunshine. But May Cottage got our break off to a lovely warm start, with a friendly reception from Sue, who made us a brew and left us to settle in our attic room after quickly showing us how everything worked.

The weather was drizzly that day, but we were right in the heart of Bowness so we had a good look round without getting too wet, and picked out a restaurant for our evening meal - again, nowhere is any real distance from here, so it's an ideal location for us - peaceful, great views,but very central. And the big bed in our room was extremely comfortable!

Breakfast was notable for two reasons, both of them positive: the food was both plentiful and tasty, and Sue's tales of everyday b&b folk kept all her guests amused.

T'other half was so impressed that he wants to go back! And we even got a sliver of sunshine on day two! Not exactly Med weather, but who needs it in a place which basks in human warmth?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojoworkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our recent stay at May Cottage B&B in August for 5 days was superb. We were wonderfully looked after, our room with a lovely bathroom and a big bath, (most appreciated after a day of walking!) and a very comfortable room. everything was close by, meaning we didn't have to rely on our car as we were able to take a couple of Lake trips within walking distance and shops were close by. Sue and Len went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were so helpful. Would thoroughly recommend May Cottage as a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: We had room no.1 and it was lovely and also quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley lancs
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

never been to lakes for years.the best bb we been in for a long time our hosts len and sue are so friendly like we knew them for years. first class breakfast we will be going back to may cottage. we were very inpressed with the veiws and you dont need to take car out so close to shops and lake [2 mins walk] well worth a visit . very nice cottage warm and very friendley. alan and mary snape

Room Tip: very quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigalChorleyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
0.1 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
959 reviews
0.1 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
485 reviews
0.0 km away
Cranleigh Boutique
Cranleigh Boutique
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Cottage

Property: May Cottage
Address: May Cottage Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,654 - ₹ 56,266
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy your Lake break with us in a super location close to Lake Windermere and village life. From a super location, our family home offers *** quality Bed & Breakfast, with three ensuite rooms & one Budget ensuite room. (- We do not offer or provide the standards and services of a Guest House or Hotel.) Direct contact ensures the best tariffs, as our many returning guests know! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your May Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Cottage Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing