We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Without a doubt the best we have stayed in ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere Marina Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windermere Marina Village
Certificate of Excellence
Pocklington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the best we have stayed in ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We visited from the 29th of Feb to the 4th of March and stayed in No 9 Cottage which was really really nice, the cottage has everything you could possibly want. We need not have worried about whether we would be cold the cottage was boiling !!! Having the lounge and kitchen upstairs allows you to sit back and enjoy the views of the marina. Everything in the cottage was top spec and even in a 3/5 sleeping property there was enough crockery and cutlery for 12. The reception staff were also great at the time of booking allowing us to arrive on the Wednesday and depart on the Sunday with a late check out of 12 noon.
We will be back [ !!!!!!

Room Tip: The cottages No 6 onwards have superb views looking over the the mountains at the far side of Lake W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSteels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    54
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
135
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We arrived at Windermere Marina Village for a weeks holiday from friday to friday. We stayed in apartment 17 and WOW! It was beautiful. Spacious, well equipped, comfortable, luxury showers, towells, kitchen appliances, all oak furniture and a huge glass sliding door from the lounge area onto a large balcony overlooking the marina. We were extremely happy with what we found. it was spotlessly clean, and just had everything we could have wanted and more. We had four children with us, ages 6,8 and X2 13 year olds. We walked into the nearby Bowness on Windermere on most days which was an easy and pleasant 15/20 min walk and the children loved feeding the ducks and swans. We visited a few of the Lake Districts attractions during the week including the world of Beatrix Potter, the aquarium for which we caught the ferry, Trotters world of animals (a bit further afield) and the Honister slate mine near Keswick, Lake Buttermere, Ambleside for a bit of shopping for which we also took the ferry. We went to Grasmere which has a lovely gingerbread shop and the william wordsworth garden is really nice for a walk around.
Can recommend Booths supermarket if you are self catering for all the usual things plus some interesting and unusual extra bits and pieces (eg the Olive bread!) which is in Windermere itself by the station and the lakeland store. We also walked to the car ferry from WMV and walked along the other side of the lake which was nice and easy for the little ones.
The only things that were a bit of a dissappointment were firstly the WIFI connection in the apartment was extremely poor. Had our older daughter come with us as planned but then didnt at the last minute, this would have caused a major headache and one of the reasons we chose this location over Langdale Timeshare was because it advertised free WIFI in the apartments which was specifically for her. Lucky she decided not to come !! Also, the hot water situation was unsatisfactory. If we bathed our 6 and 8 year olds before bedtime, that was it for the hot water. On the first evening we did this, our teenagers coukd not shower. And again, one morning we bathed them without thinking - which meant cold showers for everyone else. We could have asked at reception if there was anything we could do about that,which we didnt, we just worked around it but if you were 6 adults sharing, this would undoubtedly cause a problem. Lastly, on previous visits here, we have enjoyed having the pool, leisure facilities and restaurant onsite. We knew before we booked it is no longer there, but we really did miss it. We did not use the pool at the hotel as advertised as there was no parking there and it was really a bit too chilly to swim, then walk back to WMV and if you paid for the carpark in Bowness, it was £4 for two hours and still a bit of a jaunt back to the carpark from the pool. So we would love to see that facility rebuilt at some point as it really is a shame not to have it, and also a shame the little shop has gone. Not major show stoppers for us, but we hope the management will take on board these comments ! We love coming here, we will be back - five stars to the team who cleans these apartments. They do an excellent job. It is with regret that i Took a star off just for the last three issues but on the whole, a super week and we highly recommend this location for a great break with lots to see and do in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Apartment 17 is absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andio100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereMarina, Public Relations Manager at Windermere Marina Village, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Windermere Marina Village. I am pleased that you were happy with apartment and enjoyed your stay with us.
We have recently upgraded our complimentary WiFi facility, reception are always happy to help if you are having a problem with connectivity.
The hot water can be replenished by an emersion in the apartment, I hope you weren't inconvenience too much.
I am pleased to tell you that we are building a bar and restaurant onsite over the coming months and that the shop will reopen on 1st March 2012 under new management.
Thanks again for all your comments, we hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards
Tracii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here in January for a 4 night break.

Fantastic accommodation and beautiful setting,could not get better value for money luxury in the lakes. Use of the Spa at nearby hotel is great too.

Will be returning soon

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAnchorEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with friends and two dogs,great accommadation clean as a whistle, well equipped will stay again.
You will not be dissapointed

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ACS1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here in the first week of January with our pets. The accomodation was spacious, well decorated, clean etc. and I loved the open plan feel of the upstairs lounge/kitchen area. The bedrooms were lovely as was having an en-suite and a main bathroom with doors into the second bedroom and central hallway. There was plenty of parking and also a great view from upstairs. The reception staff were very helpful both when booking and during our stay. We really enjoyed our visit and hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katieJNorthUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.1 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
0.8 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Marina Village

Property: Windermere Marina Village
Address: The Marina, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 83,991 - ₹ 85,897
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering lakeland cottages and luxury apartments nestled around a private marina in the heart of the Lake District.Windermere Marina Village enjoys a secluded location yet is only a few minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windermere Marina Village Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Windermere Marina Village Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing