We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not happy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elim Bank Hotel

Elim Bank Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elim Bank Hotel
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not happy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

we stayed for 1 night at elimbank hotel bowness on windermere and went outside the premissese for a cigarette and got wrong of the manager and then he sprayed airfreshener and our clothes stunk of it and couldnt stop for breakfast next morning as my son has asthma and the smell of the airfreshner on our clothes made him ill and he was up all night

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mando30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    29
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
18
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

The owners of this grand Vuctorian B&B arre welcoming and helpful. Public areas are impressive in a high Victorian way but that impression soon leaves once you enter the rooms, which badly need updating. The taste in furniture is Courts cheap range circa 1980 with (to my taste) unattractive floral spreads on oversoft mattresses. Half-used bottles of bubblebath and liquid soap in the bathroom with cracked plasterwork give a poor impression. Not a bad place to stay but doesn't impress overall.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Me and my Wife stayed for one night in April. We were greeted by 2 lovely people who made us feel very welcome.I found this B&B to be good value for money and they do a lovely full english in the morning. The rooms are very clean and tidy but could do with a little updating but did'nt affect our stay.Would definately return when we go back to the lakes, hopefully which will be quite soon with our 5 year old this time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

Went their last year, hotel seemed to combine a mix of B&B warmth and a typical hotel's location when I booked it over internet. The hotel is centrally located about 2 min walk to the Windermere town centre. The decor of the hotel is rather old and not as bright as would be ideal to a stay. It has a old but rich feel to it in the corridors but richness does not quite carry into the rooms. The room we stayed in was just okay, lighting was poor both in bedroom and the bathroom. Rooms were clean but because of lighting or the furnishing not very uplifting. The dull weather did not help things. Television set in the room seemed more a formality, and with the weather not permitting venturing out we felt quite stuffed in on our second day. Would rate it just okay, its price is about 15-20% higher than it should be for the overall ambience, comfort and facilities offered, lake district and location premium notwithstanding.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed at Elim Bank for three nights at the end of June.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were of very high quality and the proprietors: Brian and Margaret,were very freindly, helpful and had a wonderful sense of humour.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly return if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsleofWightttwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.6 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#70 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#14 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.1 km away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#23 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 km away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#22 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Bank Hotel

Property: Elim Bank Hotel
Address: Elim Bank Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,068 - ₹ 8,319
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Elim Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing