We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pebbles
Nearby Hotels
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 153
US$ 142
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rex(Weymouth)
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown Hotel(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 206
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Hotel(Weymouth)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Russell Hotel(Weymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
143
62
15
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
62
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fanquiet streettown centrefriendly ladycar parking spaceroom was cleanfull englishon arrivalguest housespent nights herefriendly place to stayexcellent stayoff road parkingmarmaladelovely breakfastminute walkother guests
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a terrific find. I have visited Weymouth several times and stayed in a different location each visit and I must say "The Pebbles" is up amongst the very best.
The property is an easy 15 minute walk from the town centre and railway station, set in a pretty residential area but not too far distant from the amenities.
Paul, the landlord is a standout, full of little tips about the town and it's surroundings coupled with the fact he prepares a delicious breakfast.
I booked a single room which is compact and very comfortable. Everything you require is provided or available on request. Also had a peep into a couple of the other rooms for two persons and they also appeared beautifully finished and equally luxurious.
I spent three contented days here and could have easily stayed longer.
Would have no difficulty recommending "The Pebbles" for ones home away from home.

Room Tip: I had Room 2, a single on the first floor, although it faces the road there is very little vehicular traffic to disturb one and the bed is first class.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthseaRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are happy you enjoyed you stay at The Pebbles and look forward to seeing you here again.

Many thanks,
Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Paul at the Pebbles is an excellent host with a lovely sense of humour, and he serves a breakfast of distinction every morning! He was very flexible in terms of our check-in and check-out, and went above and beyond on a number of occasions, giving us lifts to various destinations, which made our visit so much easier. The Pebbles is clean and tightly run, in a quiet area of town, but close enough to the Esplanade and associated attractions and restaurants to make a nice short walk of it.

We had a lovely time, and felt very welcome.

Many thanks Paul! Top class!

PS: great fish tank too!

Room Tip: They are all good. Paul upgraded us because it was quiet while we were there.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just had a lovely weekend in weymouth - really pleased with first stay at pebbles. We've been to Weymouth many times, self catering, hotels, B&Bs - this was the nicest accommodation. Lovely bedding, good breakfast - good welcome. Nice to see all the family working together in a family business. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrmeaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you so much for your review and are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,

Paul & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Would love to be able to gve a good review - was looking forward to our weeks stay but they committed the cardinal sin - DOUBLEBOOKING. Despite having booked 3 months in advance our room had been let to other (more recent) guests.
To be scrupulously fair Paul was very helpful in finding us other accomodation - but it meant two moves during the week.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vintage_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

We humbly apologise to you for our mistake and were very relieved we were able to source you similar accommodation over the May Bank holiday which was a feat in itself!.

Although we have a very exacting and streamlined process for our bookings which normally cannot go wrong as it is now all on-line. The person entering the data on to said system is human and unfortunately we eventually make the odd mistake. This is the first time it has happened since we changed to the on-line computer system 5 years ago and we will ensure it is the last.
We also hope you received a small refund from your alternative accommodation paid by us as a token of compensation for the mix-up.
As one of the premier accommodation providers in Weymouth, we strive to maintain the highest levels of customer service and quality at all times to maintain the reputaion our guests have come to expect from us and we very much hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Paul Beukers
Partner
The Pebbles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My husband and I have just returned from The Pebbles B&B for a weekend break. On arrival, we were greeted by the owners daughter (about 13 years old). We read this had happened to other guests on Trip Advisor and thought nothing of it, but when it happened we really did feel uncomfortable. However, she was a lovely girl and very polite and professional. We were also greeted by 4 loudly barking dogs! They were only small dogs, but as someone who is scared of dogs, I wasn't too impressed. The owner then began to shout loudly for the dogs to leave us alone! it was one of the most interesting and loud check-ins I've ever encountered!
We stayed in room 4, which was decorated very nicely. The bathroom was a bit small but again decorated nicely and very clean with what looks like a brand new shower unit. There were also very nice toiletries in there for us to use.Beware though, if someone uses the taps on the sink (which is in the room not bathroom) the shower will stop running! The room was a small - medium size but quite possibly the hottest room I've ever slept in. There was a ceiling fan (really noisy) which we had to have on all night and the window open. I can only imagine it was hot because the room was not that big. Also, sleeping was quite difficult as on both nights the dogs were barking and yelping loudly, as little dogs do!
There was a flat screen TV mounted on the wall, with some of the free-view channels, but it was so high up we strained our necks a bit trying to watch it.
The Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were very nice as there was also a water filter jug in there, so you didn't have to drink un-filtered tap water! The reviews we'd read highlighted the breakfast as brilliant and they weren't wrong! The full english was lovely and the owner was happy to make me a bacon sandwich instead of the full english. Cafetiere coffee is the norm there, which felt a little luxurious! At breakfast one of the dogs escaped from the living quarters and began growling at my husband and then had a nibble of his ankles!
Parking is one space at the front (the other 2 are for the owner and her husband) and some more spaces at the back of the property but this area is unlit. There is also a garden at the back with a patio area but it was freezing cold this weekend so we din't venture out there!
The owner is a very friendly lady but we felt like we were imposing on them as we could hear them upstairs, which made us feel a little awkward. We probably would return if we needed to stay in Weymouth but if you're very scared of dogs, I wouldn't advise it!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mesulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

We have been asked to involve the family as we are a family run guest accommodation by Visit England our assessors and would ask if in the check-in process the only problem was the age of our daughter.

We are sorry the guest found the room not big enough but we had upgraded them free of charge from the cheaper smaller room they had booked. Also we were not made aware of any issue with the TV and have not had any complaints but to explain, health & safety dictate that in that room the TV must be mounted slightly higher than normal.

We are also a little perplexed as to the coments about the dogs. We indeed have 4 dogs. We have 2 Cavaliers and 2 Yorkies. I am not sure either breed could be described as worrying. We would just ask any guest to advise us before arrival if they have any dog issues and we of course will ensure they are kept away which 99% of the time they are but occassionally one will slip past the gate and need to be reminded of the error of his ways!.

We would just like to manage any expectations that we are a guest accommodation or a medium sized B&B whos charges are much cheaper than the local hotels who charge at least twice as much for the rooms as we do. Some of the observations would be valid were one paying hotel prices which we are not and as a result feel we should not be judged by the same standards.
Our assesor from Visit britain stayed in this room this year when she came anonymously who said it was the best nights sleep she had had for a while and gave us our 4 star silver award which we believe we have earnt for all the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews