We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alendale Guest House
Ranked #6 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All you could ask for”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

What a great find.Lovely guest house and excellent hosts.Clean tidy and a breakfast you would find hard to beat anywhere.If you want a nice break in Weymouth look no further this is the place to stay.Will be back for sure

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
81
328
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
milon keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Lovely B&B, very clean and tidy bedrooms comfy beds and superb breakfast couldnt fault it at all. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The location is OK, just off the main beach front, well within walking distance of the local train station and on a good bus route.

The accommodation on a whole is OK, the dinning room and guest lounge was nice and welcoming, the king size bed was heaven, very comfortable, and cosy

We would not give it a four star more like a 2/3 as for the attention to detail on a whole and the service!!

The canopy on the front main door as you enter is broken, the stairs looks like they have been through the mill, a few dings in the bedroom furniture this could have been touched up, and a very noisy water tank filling up when anyone used the water system.

More attention to cleanliness's would help, behind sinks, bed side lamps and those little places you forget about.

The breakfast selection on a whole was lovely, using local produce. A array of fresh fruit and local produced cereal.

We do fill that the lovely home make fresh breakfast could have done with an extra sausages, a few more beans and a hash brown would have made the full English even more tasty !!!

We are disappointed by the lack of the presence of the proprietors, there helpers were lovely, if they had a bit more confidence and training this would have made up for the absence of the propritors.

We would not say that over all it was vaule for money.

Room Tip: Don't have the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sillytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arterslawn, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
We are so sorry that you visit to the Alendale was not what you expected and on this occassion we got it wrong. It is very rare that Jim and I are not around however, due to Jims sudden and seroius back injury we had to be away from home at short notice for treatment. Hence we had to arrange staff at very short notice. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast other than the lack of hash browns we decided that we would rather give a choice of lightly fried bread or potatoe scones.

We do hope that people reading this email will make a judgement on all our reviews over the past 6 years.

Once again very sorry things did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Excellent stay, felt welcome from the moment we walked in right through till the end. No standards were dropped throughout the stay. Full English breakfast and the most comfortable bed you could imagine! Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laaurenurbanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

we have just had a lovely weekend stay at the alendale. i think this is the 6th year in a row, still cant find any faults. we wished we had stayed longer our time went to to quick. well done denise and your helpers.( we missed jim) hope its not to long till we see you xx

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally463parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.5 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
341 reviews
0.1 km away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
239 reviews
0.1 km away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
577 reviews
0.0 km away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alendale Guest House

Property: The Alendale Guest House
Address: 4 Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,887 - ₹ 10,287
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alendale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alendale Guest House is a warm and comfortable Grade II listed Georgian building in the beautiful seaside holiday town of Weymouth, Dorset, situated in a terrace at the end of the esplanade. It is just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the harbour and shopping centre and the old town with its restaurants, bars and nightlife. Retaining many of its Georgian features and character, the guest house offers comfortable, fresh accommodation on a B&B basis. All the rooms have en-suite facilities and families are welcome. We pride ourselves at the Alendale on our high standard of cleanliness. In your room you will find a well supplied hospitality tray and often home made cakes. We also provide hair dryers, sewing kits and shoe cleaning kits. An iron and board can be provided on request and we can also arrange dry cleaning. The Alendale has a modern dining room that can sit 14, with views towards the beach. We have a wonderful breakfast menu and source all our produce, where possible, directly from Dorset. The menu includes a full English breakfast with a choice of selected extras, or perhaps local grilled kippers or scrambled egg and smoked salmon with toasted brioche. There is also a selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You can also help yourself to our breakfast buffet which includes fruit and a range of Dorset Cereals. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice but we generally find that most vegetarians can find something suitable from the menu.Our motto is, "If we can, we will"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Alendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alendale Guest House Hotel Weymouth
The Alendale Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing