We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alendale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Alendale Guest House
Ranked #6 of 169 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a great 2 night break at the Alendale between Christmas and New Year. The room we had was room 2 and overlooked the road. And though we could hear a little traffic it was not enough to disturb 2 good nights sleep. The breakfast was excellent for the price. A good range of Dorset Cereals then Full English/Scottish, kippers scrambled egg etc.
I couldn't rate this guest house high enough for the friendly helpful owners but they have recently sold up and are moving to the New Forest. We have asked them to e-mail us with their new property details.

Room Tip: In the busy times of the year the owners did say light sleepers might want a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
316
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed here first weekend December.
Hosts were very welcoming, friendly and very helpful with tips to were to eat out. Rooms very clean and comfortable, nice and warm!
Off road parking and only a few minutes walk into town.
Breakfast was wonderful; from fresh fruit salad, the best porridge I've ever had, Dorset cereals to the 'full works' including Scottish breakfast which my husband reported was fantastic.
Nice touches like homemade mince pies welcomed us back to our room on the Saturday.
This little guest house was a really good find and I would not hesitate to return here or to recommend to friends

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great location with views down the beach. Lovely hosts - friendly and warm. We were able to fit our travel cot into the room with no fuss at no extra expense. Clean rooms with nice touches to make you feel welcome - have had several bad experiences in other local guesthouses and glad we now have somewhere we can return to with confidence.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meal-E-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

My scores speak for themselves. Denise and Jim were very welcoming. Off road parking that is much needed in Weymouth. Clean rooms and comfy beds. Pillows were too firm for me so I took advantage of the second choice of pillow that is in the wardrobe. Very handy to get into the town as a 5 min walk and directly opposite the beach. Fab breakfast. Tried the Scottish option on other reviewers recommendation and was NOT disappointed. Delicious and a perfect cooked egg (so few places manage that!!!!) Will be returning next month.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you don't like firm pillows as you find another 2 in the wardrobe to give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My wife and I and our 8 month old son enjoyed a very memorable three night stay at the Alendale Guest House. Jim and Denise were truly excellent hosts, the rooms were clean, spacious and well decorated. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to our liking. Parking was free and the location was excellent, only seconds away from the beach. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevandCharlotteHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 km away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#1 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 km away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#2 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alendale Guest House

Property: The Alendale Guest House
Address: 4 Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,947 - ₹ 8,223
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alendale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alendale Guest House is a warm and comfortable Grade II listed Georgian building in the beautiful seaside holiday town of Weymouth, Dorset, situated in a terrace at the end of the esplanade. It is just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the harbour and shopping centre and the old town with its restaurants, bars and nightlife. Retaining many of its Georgian features and character, the guest house offers comfortable, fresh accommodation on a B&B basis. All the rooms have en-suite facilities and families are welcome. We pride ourselves at the Alendale on our high standard of cleanliness. In your room you will find a well supplied hospitality tray and often home made cakes. We also provide hair dryers, sewing kits and shoe cleaning kits. An iron and board can be provided on request and we can also arrange dry cleaning. The Alendale has a modern dining room that can sit 14, with views towards the beach. We have a wonderful breakfast menu and source all our produce, where possible, directly from Dorset. The menu includes a full English breakfast with a choice of selected extras, or perhaps local grilled kippers or scrambled egg and smoked salmon with toasted brioche. There is also a selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You can also help yourself to our breakfast buffet which includes fruit and a range of Dorset Cereals. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice but we generally find that most vegetarians can find something suitable from the menu.Our motto is, "If we can, we will"! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alendale Guest House Hotel Weymouth
The Alendale Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing