We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun,sea,Sand and the Sunbay.Perfect”
Review of Sunbay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunbay Guest House
Ranked #86 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sun,sea,Sand and the Sunbay.Perfect”
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The welcome was warm and friendly. It was a real shame we were only staying one night. Rooms spotlessly clean and fresh. Very comfortable. The breakfast was great and served with a smile from a very friendly waitress. A lovely view off the beach and sea from the dining room. Looking forward to a future visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypop1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I RUN A GUESTHOUSE MYSELF IN PETERSFIELD, SO I AM PROBABLY MORE CRITICAL THAN OTHERS, BUT COULD FIND NO FAULT AT ALL IN SUNBAY GUEST HOUSE OR THE STAFF.

Mrs Broadhead made us really welcome even though we arrived early while she was still busy.
Our four poster front bedroom was extremely clean and comfortable as was our friends room. The views were outstanding
The breakfast was varied and tasty, especially the sausages and bacon
A short walk took us to the shops, putting green, fun fair and pier.
Lots to see and do close by.
The restaurant Mrs Broadhead recommended to us, which was a carvery, we went to every night, it was excellent

CANT WAIT TO GO BACK TO SUNBAY AGAIN!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stayed here four nights in August. The reception was cordial and helpful. It's an old victorian semi that has been extended at the back (haven't they all) and is a bit rickety. The room I was in had a view of a wall which was a pity in a guest house only yards from the beach. The ensuite however was fine, clean and had an external window though the shower was a bit temperamental. The breakfast reminded me a bit of the English breakfasts of days of yore, with tinned mushrooms and runny baked beans etc but all in all considering the marvellous location and their cordiality I would recommend this place as a good spot to take the kids for a traditional "by the seaside" holday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_davie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Berkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Conveniently located B&B on the waterfront. We stayed in the family room in the loft (room 8) and were pleasantly surprised by the amount of space in this room, and the views from the bedroom windows. Pleased with the service we received and price charged. Would go stay there again should we return to Weymouth.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottusBritannicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Booked a 2 night stay at this guest house. Normally stay in hotels but felt we would have a change and stay in a guest house.

We was made to feel very welcome by "Lynda" the landlady upon arrival, and she was very helpful with ideas about things to do in weymouth, and restaurants that she recommended.

The room at Sunbay was of a good size for a guest house and had direct views across weymouth beach.

Room was also en-suite and had an excellent shower.

But the best aspect of Sunbay was the breakfast (the bacon was some of the best bacon i have ever had) and i would recommend this to anyone.

Overall an excellent stay and we will be returning in november

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — no bar
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 km away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#45 of 165 in Weymouth
107 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
4.1 km away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#82 of 165 in Weymouth
63 reviews
11.9 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
6.6 km away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#2 of 3 in Upwey
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Guest House

Property: Sunbay Guest House
Address: 12 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,235 - ₹ 8,588
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunbay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing