We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Prince Regent
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Spent last week at this Hotel with friends.
First the Good things about this hotel.
Food and accomodation first class.
Service in the Dining room likewise.
Bar staff very good.
Downsides
Reception seemed to keep changing evry other day some were better at getting requests sorted than others.
A bit hit or miss.
Entertainment mainly for the majority of coach dancing clients .
We went to the adjacent Russel joined to the PR and easy to walk through the hotels corridors.
The big downside if travelling by car was the Weymouth problem for parking spaces.
We parked at a diiferent spot each night though the Hotel issued a refundable £10 rersidents pass for certain areas near the hotel.
Did not try to use the garage parking beneath the Hotel after visiting this area to recce..
Overall we all enjoyed the experience of the PR .
Extra good thing was the half price dinks all week.This included bottles of wine and quality spirits.

Room Tip: We paid a little more to get an upgraded room with a sea view and more flexible meal times
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank badmintongrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    316
    131
    63
    34
See reviews for
107
396
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here as part of a dancing package, the dancing and the food were first class.
On the down side we had little or no hot water, all though we brought it to the hotels attention a number or times.
Our room and bathroom were not very clean also.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christophergodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having been unwell for a while my wife and I decided a short break to Weymouth may be a good idea.
We booked a weekend at the Prince Regent in Weymouth and was extremely disapointed with:
Number 1. The condition of the floor in our room which dipped up to several inches at various points between either sided of the room. I placed my laptop on the bedside table and it was so uneven it fell straight off on to the floor. You may think I am exagerating but I can assure you I am not!!
Number 2. There were gaps in all the windows, which can be expected in old properties but these were excessive, so much so that the curtains, heavy though they were, moved all night as if there were no windows at all, this caused sleeepless nd cold nights to what should have been a welcome break. Two days after I returned I suffered a stroke, thanks Prince Regent!!
I complained and although the Group agreed it was completely unacceptable accomadation they offered me 25% off my next stay..........Yeah right, like I willever go there again.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stevebath78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Sometimes a hotel is let down by one member of staff but sadly however good the stay is it's the one bad thing you'll always remember. And so it was with the Prince Regent. The hotel itself was ok, though rather irritating to be kept awake by the hotel entertainment which boomed into my room both nights. It's a shame that the other staff, who were pleasant and helpful, were let down by one receptionist who was at best indifferent and at worst, to some members of the group I was with, downright rude.
Would suggest an intensive customer training course is needed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FSMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here as part of a walking weekend on a package which included an evening meal.
Pluses:
# Room size was good. Given a room with bath on request
# Location of hotel excellent
# Most staff were helpful
# Good TV
# Cheap bar prices. Ask for the downstairs bar where all drinks are half price all evening. Pint of beer - £1.40; Baileys - £1.25.
# Food simple but surprisingly tasty
Minuses:
# Walking tour's leader left car in staff car park (with permission) but had to wait almost 2 hours to get staff cars moved so he could exit. Resulted in considerable delay to start of walk. Receptionist did not handle situation well and was quite arrogant
# Whole place could do with a refurb. Bathroom OK but needed a deep clean
# Only one key card per room even though many in our group were sharing with someone they'd never met before
# The live entertainment is not to everyone's taste but lots of people enjoyed it so not really a minus

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms only have a shower so ask if you'd like a bath. Very welcome after a day out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonSilverLining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.9 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
451 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
447 reviews
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.4 km away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince Regent

Property: Hotel Prince Regent
Address: 139 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,247 - ₹ 5,312
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Prince Regent is an attractive seafront property on Weymouth's historic esplanade with views across Weymouth Bay and the craggy Dorset Jurassic coastline beyond. The Hotel Prince Regent is regarded by many as the leading Weymouth seaside hotel. It's perfect for singles, couples and family holidays alike. It was purpose-built in classic Georgian style, but inside you'll see we've moved with the times and offer comfortable accommodation with free Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. And with nightly performances in our beautiful Georgian ballroom - fully restored at a cost of nearly £100,000 - you'll always be entertained. Families are well catered for, with guest accommodation that can sleep up to five people. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With a sandy beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Weymouth town centre and great facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Prince
Regent Weymouth
Best Western Weymouth
Weymouth Best Western
Weymouth Regent
Hotel Prince Regent Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing