We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location and Excellent Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Maiden Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Maiden Rest
Ranked #62 of 169 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location and Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights starting 23rd July with my partner. The new hosts Dean and Maya were very friendly and accommodating and cooked us great fresh breakfast every morning.
Fab location right opposite the beach on the esplanade, Weymouth has a lot to offer and it is a pleasant stroll along the front to various bars,restaurants etc.
We had a double room which was light and adequate, well equipped with tea and coffee etc and clean. Our room was not one with a sea view but this was not a problem, we stayed when it was very hot and the room was boiling but we just used a fan and it was ok
We had new bedding which was very clean and fresh, some rooms have new mattresses ours did'nt which did cause some discomfort. However, Dean and Maya have only just taken over this hotel and it does need updating, they have already made a start and as the saying goes Rome was not built in a day.
We had a lovely 3 days and would definately recommend others to give it a try, it represents excellent value for money and you could not wish for better hosts.
We will definately go back in the future and it will be interesting to see the further improvements made.

Room Tip: Try for a room on higher floor, would imagine it would be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0rnishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    52
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
63
83
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for one night and were a bit worried after reading previous reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised. The guest house has just been taken over by a lovely couple who were very accommodating. The rooms were outdated and could do with a good overhaul but they were spotlessly clean and well equiped - tea, coffee, tv, towels. We had two sea view rooms which were great. The only fault I could find was that the en suite door was like an airing cupboard door with slats which needs to be replaced as soon as possible - I will say no more on this!!
The breakfast was superb - you had juice, tea or coffee and cereal to start and then had a choice of either a full cooked or 4 or 5 other choices. The dining room again was spotlessly clean.

We would certainly return to this place if we were visiting the area again. This isnt 4 or 5 star accommodation so if thats what you want dont stay here and then leave negative comments afterwards - its not fair on the owners when they put in such a lot of hard work.

If you have already booked and are worried about earlier comments then please dont be put off.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed one night on a weekend break to visit some old haunts. Excellent value - clean rooms, great location, decent breakfast. Recently changed ownership so watch out for older reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed here one night and couldn't of asked for better service. Really friendly owners, lovely food, right opposite the beach so i had great views and not too far from town. Couldn't off asked for a better accommodation, can't wait to go back in the summer.

Room Tip: room 22 very large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel had a change of owner this week - new owner's welcome was warm & friendly (though still finding his feet - breakfast was a little disorganised but, ultimately, fine!). Hotel lacked clear signage or a number on the door but was still easy to find.

Rooms was clean - and had a fabulous sea view. Location was great - a close walk to a lot of the night life but far enough away to avoid being disturbed. Weymouth's award winning beach was just over the road.

Was very lucky to find meter parking quite close by. (note also: the hotel does have parking permits that can be booked in advance and might come in handy)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view - it's fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 km away
Wenlock House
Wenlock House
#152 of 169 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 km away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#93 of 169 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
Sherborne Hotel Weymouth
#100 of 169 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#30 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 km away
Harlequin Guest House
Harlequin Guest House
#60 of 169 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Maiden Rest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Maiden Rest

Property: A Maiden Rest
Address: 117 Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7EH, England (Formerly Easy Stay Weymouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,301 - ₹ 6,691
Hotel Class:3 star — A Maiden Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MAIDEN REST B&B IS A SMALL FAMILY RUN B&B ON THE SEA FRONT IN WEYMOUTH. YOU CAN BE SURE OF A NICE CLEAN ROOM WITH A VARIETY AND FILLING BREAKFAST IN THE MORNING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your A Maiden Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Maiden Rest Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing