We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Tapas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crow's Nest in the Square

The Crow's Nest in the Square
Ranked #42 of 275 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated just behind the old harbour and in the heart of Hope Square the Crow's Nest offers visitors the opportunity to enjoy excellent home cooked foods, wines, fine bottled beers and hot & cold beverages.By day we provide a wide range of local food and meals to suit all needs and by night we serve a full menu influenced by the flavours of Spain as well as an exciting Tapas menu for you to enjoy whilst you soak up the atmosphere of Weymouth's premier square.The Crow's Nest in the Square is the perfect spot for romantic meals for two, food and drink with family and friends or for you to simply enjoy a bottle of wine.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Found this quaint and quirky little bistro serving tapas on a recent trip to Weymouth. Food is cooked fresh to order and was very tasty. Nice location but found totally by chance, could do with a bit more advertising as it was a lovely place to grab a meal mid-week.

Reason for not being a 5 star was that the menu is quite limited, what we did choose was very nice and presented well.

Good value and nice to be away from mass market chain restaurants.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scorpio7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    63
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
1 review
“Tapas at the Crows Nest in the Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Thanks Rosie, Sean and team. Excellent Tapas. Will recommend and look forward to seeing yous again soon. Trev y Fiona

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Bistro, Great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

This little Bistro in Hope Square is a gem. All food is cooked to order and is Excellant. The coffee is well above that served in other places as well. Go there you'll like it.

Helpful?
Thank Petex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Gorgoues little bistro, great good and service with a smile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I visited Weymouth, as we do quite often, a week ago. We stumbled upon the crows nest in the square and decided to stop for something to drink. The weather was lovely and we decided to sit outside to soak in the sun. We were enjoying our drinks so much we decided to have something to eat. The waitress told us of their two steaks and a bottle of wine offer (only £19.95!) which was hard to resist! The steaks arrived and they were cooked perfectly, accompanied by a beautiful salad and fries. The price was great, the food was outstanding and the service friendly! We will defiantly be back to try out the tapas in the evenings!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fromedouggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great bacon sarnie- sorry service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Dropped in for breakfast. Excellent bacon sandwich and cappuccino. Great bread for the toast. For the price there should be butter in a dish rather than foil square and marmalade pots rather than plastic cube. Small things but important touches. Had to bang on the window to call the waitress in from her chatting outside twice to ask for more food and the bill! 'what a rubbish waitress', she said!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crow's Nest in the Square also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Crow's Nest in the Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing