We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best location in Weymouth”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Ranked #21 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best location in Weymouth”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Like any pretty seaside town the best view is looking at it, so why stay in the middle of it?
The Beach House is set on the East end of the esplanade on the end of the line of hotels.
This gives it the perfect view down the beach to the town ( unlike the others in the row which just face out ), It's just a 10 min pleasant stroll, while being far enough away to keep it quiet.

Weymouth is an old town designed for tourists coming by train, it never will have the parking for everyone to come by car, but the hotel also benefits from a quirk of the rules which means parking in the bays in the triangle is allowed which the signs wouldn't suggest.
We stayed on the bank holiday weekend and had no trouble, however you will need to be able to parallel park ;)

To the hotel it's self.
It's very clean and well presented, as soon as you get there you know you picked the right one. The staff are genuinely warm, welcoming and have great knowledge of the area.

The stairs, don't get the problem myself, it's an old building, their fine, yes the very top ones are a little tight on the turn, but if you have no trouble walking it's fine, just don't let the misses do the packing.
The room is very well finished and clean, the view from our room ( 7 ) was superb.
Comfortable bed, all electrics required, modern bathroom. The windows are single pane sash type, but as a very light sleeper noise never bothered me once.
Just outside is the beach, really!, it's the width of a very quiet road away, what more do you want?!

Then in the morning there's breakfast, you couldn't want for anything better cooked, it's all perfect, the bacon, never had it so good and i considered myself a bacon ace!
as said on the other review even the butters the perfect temp.
But you can mix and match anything you want if you want.

All this and it's one of the keenest priced too!

The Beach House really did add to just how good our weekend in Weymouth was, and is THE perfect base.

Room Tip: Room 7 for the best view if your not unrealistic about stairs in old buildings, it really is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
89
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We booked at the Beach House having read the positive reviews on this and other hotel and guest house sites, and we were not disappointed.

Our room, which was facing the sea front, was immaculately clean and remarkably quiet, and the expensive looking velvet blackout curtains made for a good nights sleep.

The proprietors were very welcoming, extremely knowledgeable of the local area and its attractions and provided extremely well cooked and varied breakfasts suitable for all tastes.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank bakedbeantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Our break at the beachhouse was for 3 nites,Joy and Laura,were very nice people,who looked after use very well. Our room,which was room no 3,was perfecf.Great sea veiw,and very well presented,bed really nice,big bathroom,and room made up every morn.Breakfast was fab,would go back again,and once again it was lovely to meet Joy and Laura.Thank you both for making are break so nice,as this is what the doctor had ordered for me .I'm glad Elaine my parntner enjoyed her break too. We will certainly be going back and high;y recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanrr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faringdon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We arrived with nothing booked and wanted to be out of town but in walking distance of everything and with a sea view.1st door tried was booked up so then tried The Beach House. Greeted by very friendly host who explained that there was a room free but had shower problem over the weekend. We were showed room which was spotlessly clean and overlooked prom and beach! and we were offered room at reduced rate. Our host also found us a parking space close to B & B which was most acceptable as the rain had decided to arrive with us.
Breakfast was very acceptable - various choice and perfectly presented. And the shower
behaved itself! Would recommend to family and friends but would make them aware of steep stairs which were also quite narrow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank breakawayFaringdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

After reading the previous comments, my partner, friends and I decided to travel anyway, and we were very pleased indeed. Such a warm and friendly greeting awaited us in a fantastic little B&B right by the sea. The room had such a warm, welcoming feel to it with great views over the promenade and the sea.

The owners are so friendly and more importantly genuine, breakfast was fantastic, we were not rushed out and more importantly, had such a good nights sleep.

We will definitely be staying again, and are suggesting to friends and family if they go to Weymouth.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 km away
Beach Guest House
Beach Guest House
#82 of 165 in Weymouth
43 reviews
0.0 km away
The Seaham Weymouth
The Seaham Weymouth
#17 of 165 in Weymouth
247 reviews
0.0 km away
Seaspray Guest House
Seaspray Guest House
#20 of 165 in Weymouth
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
591 reviews
0.7 km away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#22 of 165 in Weymouth
551 reviews
0.4 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 1 & 2 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,102 - ₹ 10,768
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing