We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beach House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Russell Hotel(Weymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Windsor Hotel(Weymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
155
24
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
24
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfresh milkstunning views over the bayiron boardfried breadgreat hostsbay windowbig bathroombrunswick terracelovely comfy bedfull englishwatching the worldhear the wavesfamily roomfew minutes walk awayother guestsroad noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We arrived with nothing booked and wanted to be out of town but in walking distance of everything and with a sea view.1st door tried was booked up so then tried The Beach House. Greeted by very friendly host who explained that there was a room free but had shower problem over the weekend. We were showed room which was spotlessly clean and overlooked prom and beach! and we were offered room at reduced rate. Our host also found us a parking space close to B & B which was most acceptable as the rain had decided to arrive with us.
Breakfast was very acceptable - various choice and perfectly presented. And the shower
behaved itself! Would recommend to family and friends but would make them aware of steep stairs which were also quite narrow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank breakawayFaringdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

After reading the previous comments, my partner, friends and I decided to travel anyway, and we were very pleased indeed. Such a warm and friendly greeting awaited us in a fantastic little B&B right by the sea. The room had such a warm, welcoming feel to it with great views over the promenade and the sea.

The owners are so friendly and more importantly genuine, breakfast was fantastic, we were not rushed out and more importantly, had such a good nights sleep.

We will definitely be staying again, and are suggesting to friends and family if they go to Weymouth.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Before booking the Beach House... I emailed them and also had two telephone conversations as I was concerned because by mom has recently had an operation and is walking with two sticks... We were assured that there were approximately 14 steps and a handrail..... there were.... but they were a maximum of 2 feet wide, very narrow steps with a bend halfway... my mom had to come down them backwards on her hands and knees and whilst we were there another guest fell down the bottom steps....Also one of the beds in our family room was completely not functional (it had collapsed on the one side) and when we mentioned this we were informed 'we did know but we have not had time to replace it yet'... When I questioned paying the full price for a nights stay in this bed... (during which my daughter had a really uncomfortable night) I was advised by one of the proprietors 'not to pay but don't bother coming back here again'.... As if!!!! I have to be fair and say the other proprietor apologised and said the person who was rude...was not feeling well.....! We paid for the breakfast which we were always willing to do...We are a family who always see the good in things and were made to feel very uncomfortable...we were not treated well at all...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
4  Thank vickypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRLC, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

We are disappointed that this reviewer did not enjoy their stay at our guest house however we want to respond to some of the comments in this review.
We have a short accessibility statement on our website and would suggest that people with mobility difficulties read this prior to booking with us. That said we do have many guests who stay with us despite having some mobility difficulties.
We provided the correct information to this reviewer about the stairs in this listed building. We never saw or were made aware of the reviewers Mom having to come down the stairs as described. In fact having seen the large size of their own room, the daughters tried hard to get Mom to join them in that room on the second floor – double the number of stairs to climb. Mom refused.
We have not been made aware of any guest falling down the bottom steps so are concerned that this statement has been made.
When the reviewer complained about the mattress, we advised that we did intend to purchase some new single mattress’s (and have done so) but had not been advised previously that this bed was uncomfortable by anyone sleeping there.
Having noted the large size of the room provided to them, and with Mom staying in her single room on the first floor, we were then asked to accommodate a fourth person in the reviewers room and agreed to do so at a discounted rate. (The fourth person was apparently arranged as a surprise and it was fortunate that the room that they were accommodated in was large enough to take another person).
We did understand these guests to be quite happy here until asking for a further discount for the extra person, who had an uncomfortable night on a soft mattress. We understood from what was being asked that their expectation was that we should have allowed the fourth person to stay free of charge. As this person had full use of all facilities in the room and a full breakfast we believe a small charge was not unreasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed over bank holiday weekend and had a corner room overlooking the road and the beach. The parking is limited in much of weymouth to permit holders only so to get a spot close to where you are staying may be difficult. Despite that the very helpful owners of this B+B kindly went to the trouble of moving their car so that we could park outside and we left it there the whole weekend and used the very good local bus service. The room was very clean with a large bathroom, which was scrupulously clean. Little extras like a bath slip mat and air freshner, sanitary disposal bags and toiletries were there, which I thought was good.Despite being close to the road I slept well, we had a twin room that had a double and a good sized single bed, I personally found this to be the comfier one of the two, but thats personal preference. Breakfast was served promptly with a good choice of cereals fruit and juices as well as a full english of which you could customise your choices off of the available menu. The Beach House is situated at the opposite end of the promenade to the harbour,, and it is about a 15 minuite walk to get to it, but its a flat easy walk for most people. The owners have a Gold award for hygeine and I found this an attractive prospect, If a clean environment and friendly welcome is as important to you as what furnishings are around you, then I would reccomend this B+B to you.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SurreyNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We were looking for a place to stay by the sea for our Wedding Anniversary and struck gold when we found this place. Located on the seafront ...20 steps from the beach...on the quiet side of Weymouth harbor, the Beach house is the Best Value for money Guest House that we have stayed in during our many years of traveling. We will be going back.
It is very clean without being clinical. The owners are friendly and approachable.
They have a wealth of knowledge about whats on in the local area and they know the best parking spaces !
The breakfast is cooked beautifully. The little touches make all the difference, such as freshly prepared fruit salad at breakfast and the individual butters are at the correct temperature to spread, little things mean a lot !
The sea views are lovely, we left our windows open to listen to the sea at night, very restful.
Close enough to the pubs and restaurants to be convenient, but far enough away not to hear them.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews