We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great friendly comfortable B&B - with nice people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage
Ranked #80 of 169 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great friendly comfortable B&B - with nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were visiting the Weymouth area for the first time in many years. We decided to take pot luck with the Anchorage for a Monday to Friday break. What a good choice it was, the views from the room were fantastic, and as a fan of full English breakfast, I was glad to see a FULL breakfast cooked, presented and served so well. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The owners were friendly, chatty and full of useful tips for filling the day. This is one I will use again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    15
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
25
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights (originally 3 extended to 4), Thurs to Sunday and considered this B&B to be of the highest standard. The service was first class as was the full english breakfast we enjoyed each morning. The room we had overlooked the beach and was very comfortable and clean and tidy. We will certainly consider staying at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Weymouth.

Room Tip: We chose a beach view although we were offered either a beach or harbour view, either of which we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellanosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I booked with a friend for a fishing trip we had to be squeezed in late in the day then had to cancel last minute due to weather conditions.
Very understanding response will definitely keep on my file for a trip with my wife.

Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyjstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Having stayed in many of the b&b's along the Esplanade in previous years, this was a first time 2 night stay at The Anchorage. Location wise The Anchorage is in a good position on the corner with a great outlook from the front rooms and breakfast room across the beach and Bay . Due to the location, you can be out the main door, across the road and on that beach in a minute.
We had 2 top floor rooms, yes quite a few stairs to climb, but that is all part of the character of these wonderful Georgian period buildings.The rooms were clean, comfortable, both with en-suite shower and w/c. There was an old style portable tv in the room with a digibox for freeview channels.
Breakfast was served 08.30 to 09.00, with a good choice of cereals, fruit juice, the standard full english nicely cooked, toast and choice of tea or a cafetiere of coffee.
Parking permits were made available, and there are many on-street bays in the vicinity so that the car was parked within a short walk. All in all, an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mxcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Having returned to Weymouth for a weekend break we again stayed at The Anchorage. Once again we were not dissapointed, Diane and Michael are such lovely hosts who make you feel very welcome and take the time to talk to you as friends rather than guests. As always the breakfast was perfect, the rooms spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. It is such a great place for a break and you feel welcome and comfortable. I would recommend a stay at The Anchorage to anyone, a true gem. Thanks for our stay, we will see you again this year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blythe589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 km away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#103 of 169 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 km away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#75 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#25 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#28 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 km away
Seacrest Guest House
Seacrest Guest House
#83 of 169 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: 7 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,171 - ₹ 6,708
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is a family-run guesthouse offering a comfortable and relaxing stay. Situated just a 'stones throw' from both the golden sands of Weymouth beach and the picturesque 17th-century harbour. Perfectly located by the Condor ferry terminal and the Pavilion Theatre. Just a few minutes walk will see you in the town centre with its many pubs, restaurants, major shopping outlets and other attractions. Come and enjoy a relaxing stress-free stay with us in one of the best locations in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing