We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Mon Ami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mon Ami
Ranked #158 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I went with a group of 25 people but was a bit worried after reading two really bad reviews about this hotel. Upon arrival we were allocated our rooms and our cases were carried to our door for us. I was sharing a room and had been given a back room but after seeing the view out the front asked if there was another room we could have so that we could see the sea. This was no trouble for the staff at all and were given a lovely room at the front.
The room was very clean (and yes we did have blankets on the bed) but this is a very old and classic hotel. The shower had instructions on the door for those who could not work out how to use it and was lovely and hot.
The food was fantastic, we had a choice of three things on the menu for dinner each day plus the choice of a salad or vegetarian option. Unlike other hotels i have stayed in, when the food came it was piping hot and not luke warm. The breakfasts consisted of a choice of fruit juices, cereals, fruits, full english and plenty of toast, with tea or coffee. If you didnt want the full english they would do scrambled egg or poached egg on toast for you if asked.
All the staff were kind and happy and couldn't do enough for you which really makes all the difference to a holiday.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and we could have fresh towels whenever we wanted along with tea ,coffeee ,sugar and milk so we could have refreshments in our room.

The beach and sea are situated just across the road from the hotel and if you want to go into town during the day there is a cute little tram that will show you the sights.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lizzie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    31
    37
    27
    43
See reviews for
41
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

omg....this is most definetely the WORST hotel i have ever stayed in.The rate was very good...so i wasnt expecting the ritz! but what we actually got was awful,all the staff except one had a stroppy cant be bothered attitude.the beer was off.drinks were warm.food was worse then the old school dinners......served by the most miserable waitresses on the planet!...beds were lumpy with 1970s blankets....yes BLANKETS on them....we found a mouldy chicken nugget under a chair in our room.The bathroom was disgusting and dont even get me started on the shower!......it took me an hour to get the temperature right then another hour to shower because it was just dripping out........the only good thing about this hotel is that it is situated just across the road from a lovely little beach.and if u walk about 1/4 mile in to town theres some lovely restaurants and good night life....loved weymouth but would not go back to this hotel if you paid me!

Room Tip: find another hotel.....honestly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

You need a sense of humour to stay at this hotel. Then you can laugh at the horrible food (roast potatoes you can't even crack open, soup that's obviously from a powder mix because they haven't even bothered to mix it up properly). You can laugh at the surly service. You can laugh at the dirty rooms. We had a good old giggle as we tried to clean the filthy shower cubicle. You can crease up with mirth as you attempt to negotiate a flight of stairs with loose stair rods.

And you can give a huge sigh of relief when you get out alive. Awful hotel. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel mon ami after moving on from another guest house and the two could not be more different. The staff at the mon ami could'nt do enough to be more helpful and accomodating. The rooms were basic but very clean, the atmosphere was relaxing. The breakfasts were genorous and you could have as much toast and coffee/tea as you liked. We would definately go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aimee7732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 km away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 km away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Marina Court
Marina Court
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Guest House
Beach Guest House
#87 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mon Ami? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mon Ami

Property: Hotel Mon Ami
Address: 143/145 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,942 - ₹ 6,786
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mon Ami 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mon Ami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mon Ami Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing