We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first stay in weymouth”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #143 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2012

this was our first stay in weymouth,and i must say we were very pleased with the hotel,it was very clean, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent,the only gripe was that the television in our room was old and was suffering from the recent change to digital,but it did`nt spoil our stay, we travelled by coach,and by speaking to the other passengers, they too enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jean161140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel with a coach party. We found the staff all to be lovely, entertainment good, rooms clean, maybe a bit on the small side, lovely food, great views overlooking the sea.
Would definately go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

went on mystery twixmas break with bowens, hotel in good location on sea front. Hotel was very clean, room and meals were fine with good choices for breakfast and evening meals, staff friendly and helpful Entertainment ok would definately go again for short break as weymuth was a very nice place

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pireneWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Berkeley during the Christmas week and enjoyed our stay. i thought all the staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel seemed was well run. We travelled independantly but most of the guests arrived on coach trips. We chose to pay a bit extra and have a sea view room which was money well spent with lovely views out to sea and along the prom. You could climb out of the large sash window on to a small balcony which also had a seat, great fun but a bit chilly in December. The room was not large but it was clean as was the rest of the hotel. Watch out for the hot water in the shower as it was very hot, best to put the cold on first and then add the hot. There was enough tea and coffee supplied for our needs and it was topped up each day. Each evening there was a quiz for fun and then the owner done a couple of houses of bingo which were also lighthearted. Each evening there was a different entertainer who were all ok.
i guess the strict meal times may not be everyones cup of tea but personally it didnt bother us. I thought all the food was good. We requested extra trays of veg from the start of the meal because although they came round with extras later it is best to have it all on your plate straight away.
Our room was always warm although we never had the radiator on, we often had the sash window wide open because we like the fresh air.
An enjoyable stay and would certainly go again.

Room Tip: sea view room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CobblerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

from the outside berkley looks like very good hotel.. inside the bedrooms basic but very clean ,not very warm would be warmer in corridor,the meals well you had to order breakfast at evening meal and vice versa meal time were set at 8.30am 6.00 pm with warning to be promt or you would miss first course.pity the hotel cant tell the time as they were up to 10mins late every meal time. the breakfast was the worst we have ever had in any hotel, the evening meals were passable if you like what bit of veg you got boiled to death. the service was so disorganised we waited up to40mins inbetween starter and main.on the plus side yes it as got one fantastic location with great beach over the road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gth2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
491 reviews
0.8 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#16 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
0.2 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#50 of 166 in Weymouth
417 reviews
0.8 km away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#38 of 166 in Weymouth
299 reviews
0.2 km away
The Leam Hotel
The Leam Hotel
#47 of 166 in Weymouth
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 127-129 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: ₹ 5,015 - ₹ 6,968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing