We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chesil Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is our 4th year with Chesil and we are drawn here everytime.Chesil Vista is situated close to chesil beach,some caravans overlook the fleet lagoon.We stayed in Blue18 in a Ridgeway plus 8 berth(new for 2011),i cant fault the caravan as it was very clean.It had a veranda which looks out over the lagoon.The caravan was opposite reception and close to the swimming pool and Venue,this area is the Blue area which can be noisier with more traffic and people coming out the club although this wasnt too much of a problem as entertainment finishes around midnight.Recption staff are always polite and very helpful,nothing is too much trouble.We paid for WiFi which cost £20 for a week.We were unlucky that we couldnt get internet connection as there seemed to be some technical problem and gave us a full refund.We only ate at the Bistro on the first night but i have no faults with the food we had plus it is very reasonably priced.The children enjoyed the entertainment and the soft play area (they will need socks while they play in there)and an outdoor play area close to the complex,they also have an arcade with small coin machines which we all played in!The entertainment was good,it usually starts around 9pm after bingo and the childrens entertainment team have been on.We always managed to get a table here and there seemed to be plenty of bar staff as we rarely had to queue (peak time in aug).You are given passes which you will need to show each time you go in the venue at night so be warned if you lose your passes it will cost £20 to replace.The swimming pool has a small water slide which the kids enjoyed,it is a small pool but it was never busy so you had room to swim and play around in,there is seating in the pool area if you just want to watch.We ventured into Weymouth town a fair bit and used the local bus service which runs every ten minutes.The bus stop is just around the corner so if you dont want to drive its ideal.We got a special family deal through reception for a family ticket at the Sealife centre,this will save you about £20.I used the holiday shop for milk and bread,they sell rock and fudge if you want to take home a prezzie for someone.The only negative that i have is the bed,they seem to design the beds with a type of plastic sheeting on them,the first night was really uncomfortable although i did pop in to reception and got a towelling mattress protector and this did help as it didnt feel like the sheet was sticking to us!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mummytotwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Chesil Family Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

On arrival at this site we were warmly greeted by the reception staff, we headed of to our accommodation(Sandford 6-2 bed caravan) we were only a few rows away from the club and all the other amenities, but we did not encounter any noise or rowdiness at night ,our caravan was not top of the range, but it was one of the best we have ever had,albeit the shower is not very powerful,the entertainment was very good, but maybe it could do with starting earlier, we did not realise that there was bingo being played in the evening because this was on at 6-30 approx, we think that the kiddies entertainment should have been on then and the bingo/competitions should have been on in the later slot (we thought that they were the wrong way round). We found all the staff,from the lovely cleaning ladies(who worked so hard) to the head of house staff to be cheery and very helpful.
Weymouth is still as lovely as we remembered it,on our first day we ate at the william Henry pub(weatherspoons) we were made welcome, afew days later we thought we would try their other pub(THE SWAN) VERY RUDE TO US,we were unaware that children are not allowed in we were told to leave, we went over the road to a place called THE DOLCE VITA we were made very welcome,as for the meal we had to wait a little bit longer for it to arrivebut what a FANTASTIC meal , therefore i would highly recommend them

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Having read all the views when looking to book I looked up and booked with abreakaway holiday as recommended on one of the reviews. Our caravan was nice, probably not as modern as some, which I would have liked, however it was immaculate and offered everything we wanted and great owners. We were grateful they took a three night booking, the holiday park said they only book weeks. My comments are more related to the park. There was hardly anybody there so it was clean and tidy - a good thing for us but what is it like when completely full? The kids loved the indoor play area. We booked this type of holiday to get more for the children, they advised there wasn't a children's entertainer as not enough children so we sat through bingo, a quiz, their version of Deal or No deal before giving up and missing the cabaret which came on about 930-10pm. The temperature of the pool was 'cool' as was the jacuzzi which I thought are supposed to be warm/hot! Several of the facilities seemed to lack any planning such an isolated sauna room off the reception area of the leisure centre.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeighleighSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This was our first visit to Chesil Vista and we will definitely be returning. Having stayed at some larger caravan parks we wanted something a little more personal and thats what we found here. The caravan was clean and in a lovely location of the park. We were told by other visitors that the main complex had been completely refurbed. The indoor pool was clean but could do with more than two showers (this was early season and we had to wait to get in). The childrens entertainment was fantastic, my children dont usually bother but they were involved every day and it was nice to not be inundated with arcade machines (a small arcade was located at the back of the Venue) and the indoor childrens play area was just of the side of the main hall, so our children could go off and play whilst we watched the show. The staff were friendly and helpful always ready with a good morning or hello and tips of where to go off the park.
I recommend a trip to the lighthouse in Portland Bill and there is a lovely cafe next door with views out to the sea. Take the bus into Weymouth (it stops right outside the park) as parking can be expensive. Weymouth beach is lovely and clean and the little side shops with cafes are really quaint.
My only personal disappontment being that the park was not directly onto a "sandy" beach but Weymouth is only 10 mins down the road (by car) and that we were unable to book an extra night (minimum of three nights) although our caravan was available.
Overall a great stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nibakiki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I don't know why people moan sooooooo much! The site is clean and tidy with everything you need for a caravan park in the Uk.
We didnt eat at the takeaway as we wanted to explore Weymouth and have fun. The evening entertainment is typical, you either love it or hate it. It wasn't for me but my friends made the most of it as we were on our holidays:)
Really good prices and friendly staff, Caravan clean and spacious.
Overall had a great weekend and made the most of a bargain holiday!
Would recommend if you want to be in a great location to go out in Weymouth.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbbubblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
4.1 km away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
620 reviews
4.2 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.7 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,097 reviews
6.4 km away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
655 reviews
6.8 km away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesil Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesil Family Holiday Park

Address: Portland Road | Chesil Beach, Weymouth DT4 9AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Price Range: ₹ 4,677 - ₹ 10,914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chesil Family Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chesil Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesil Family Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Chesil Family Holiday Park Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing