We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“TERRIFIC HOSTS - PERFECT LOCATION - THE BEST IN WEYMOUTH” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gloucester House
Ranked #5 of 169 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIFIC HOSTS - PERFECT LOCATION - THE BEST IN WEYMOUTH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Been going to this establishment for more years than we can remember - for Carnival. Bit concerned about having new owners this year - would it be the same? Would they be accomodating? (I have a disability scooter, etc) Would breakfast still be the best in Weymouth? Need not have worried!!! Jeff and Christine are perfect hosts and you would think they had been there for ever. The personal touch was superb. Breakfast was even better than before. Tina (a previous employee) was still there so still felt very much "at home". We always have the same room - overlooking the sea, with a balcony and this was still superb. We meet our friends there every year, and they have the other balcony - guaranteed fun! We l(like our friends) have booked for next year already! Highly recommended.......thank you Jeff and Chris xx

Room Tip: Room is cleaned every day. Supplies replenished, clean towels, etc - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
122
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked the hotel through recommendation, and it was great! Geoff and Chris made us feel very welcome, from the time we arrived,helping carry our bags (Lots of them!) to our room, to providing extra tea and coffee in the lounge, and letting us make use of the umbrellas provided (Which,unfortunately we needed during our stay!) We arrived the day before Weymouth Carnival, a very busy time.Our room was No. 8, a family room with a sea view. It was compact,but very clean, with lots of hanging/storage space, needed when you have a 16 year old daughter ! No probs, either, when asking for extra tea/coffee supplies for the room,Despite being on the sea front, with the Fair parked right outside for two of the days we stayed, the room was very 'soundproof',and we heard very little noise.The breakfast was lovely, with lots of choice,and there was just a great homely feeling about our stay,Home from Home, as they sayAll the staff were lovely, with lots of advice, on local events, and on Carnival Day,we all stood on the Hotel steps to watch the procession. Loved the feel of the place, lots of character, and we will be back, I hope! P.S.Parking Permit also a bonus!!

Room Tip: Sea view on 2nd floor was great, but maybe larger rooms on first floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackyH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Had a lovely time at this hotel - had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Chris and Geoff were brilliant hosts - my husband is disabled and they couldnt do enough for us. We will certainly go back again soon. Lovely Italian restaurant nearby called Enzo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Great location overlooking the sea front. Rooms cosy and clean with a great breakfast. Geoff and Chris (owners) could not do enough for us. My sister and I (together with my husband) had returned with our Father to stay at the Gloucester House as it had been our family home and our Fathers dental practice 45 years ago!! Lots of changes but we had a great time reminising and sharing our memories with Geoff and Chris. We loved it so much we've already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet540402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I had reserved 4 double rooms for myself 3 mates and our wives. All the rooms were well equiped, very clean, comfortable and 2 had sea views. They were all roomy and had enough cupboard space and adequate bathrooms. Because the men had cycled (from Bristol) to Weymouth the owners arranged storage of our bikes overnight at the rear of the property. They also arranged parking permits for our cars for the journey home, (the wives were our back-up crew). The owners were very helpful had lots of local knowledge of where to eat, (we ate at a lovley chinese on the water-front) and they even loaned the children some bucket and spades for the beach, a nice touch! Breakfast was well presented and plenty of it. No negatives, (ok....ok ...just a noisy flush). With its beach side location and the general quality of the staff and breakfast i would definately stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Top rooms r a long way up but view r worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B2W70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 km away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#1 of 169 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 km away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#36 of 169 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Property: Gloucester House
Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,411 - ₹ 8,219
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing