We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent as usual” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterside Holiday Park & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have spent many happy holidays at Waterside over the past 6-7 years, we usually stay at Easter as not our main family holiday, and come with nan and grandad. It seems a popular place to stay with extended families.
I think Waterside is far superior to the Haven parks in the area.

Always found the accomodation clean and well equiped, if you are missing anything they are always happy to supply, just ask at reception and it will be delivered to the caravan later.

Pool area is lovely, steam room and sauna by pool.
Outdoor pool closed at this time of year, but we did stay once in August and it was lovely and warm, like a bath :-)

Waterside restaurant, seems to be run by different staff almost every year, Thai food on offer this year, cooked by Thai cook, found this was very good, we had the set meal which allowed a little bit of several dishes, which mounted up to a huge meal!
The Sunday carvery as quite poor, soggy Yorkshires and very stingy with the meat.

Went to the venue a few times, Madness tribute act were quite good, the magic show we saw was quite embarassing as no one clapping and we sat at the front so felt obliged to :-D Race nights fun for the kids as well as adults!

Weymouth beach is good, nice and sandy but wasn't really beach weather this year, got sunburnt last Easter and beach was really crowded and was difficult to find a spot to put the towels down, could take your pick this year...
Bus goes from park into Weymouth, is quite expensive for the family, if the weather is nice you can park at the long stay car park near sealife and walk into Weymouth, nice and flat and a pleasant walk.
Lots of things to do nearby Lyme Regis, Bridport and Poole are all nice days out.

Looking forward to next year already, but hoping for better weather!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondebee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    108
    48
    16
    14
See reviews for
325
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have stayed at Waterside many times over the years; the latest being in August 2011. The whole park is clean and top quality, located virtually on the beach at Bowleaze Cove, 2 or 3 miles round the coast from Weymouth town.
As usual, we hired a caravan from a private owner - this usually works out substantially cheaper for the same level of service - the only slight drawback being the pool, which we had to pay to use as we hadn't booked with Waterside, but it was still miles cheaper to book this way. The site is pleasant and almost completely flat, so getting about is easy enough for everyone. There's a regular bus service that picks up at several points around the site and takes you into the heart of Weymouth; the only downside is that this finishes about 7.00 p.m. even in high season, and the alternative bus service that used to run in the evenings from Bowleaze Cove to Weymouth appears to have been cancelled, so if you don't have a car, getting into and out of town in the evenings is a bit of a pain.
The indoor pool is worth a visit, consisting of a dual-level shallow pool with water slides, sauna and steam room. It can get a bit crowded, but I suppose this is only to be expected in August.
The large entertainment venue across the road from the site (passes included, even for those of us dealing privately) is a fine place to spend a couple of hours at night; the drinks are - unsurprisingly - expensive, and it does tend to get very crowded - there aren't enough seats to go round. They keep you waiting for the entertainment - "it'll be on in five minutes" - yeah right, the longest five minutes you can imagine. The entertainment itself is usually decent enough, but for me there are too many singers and not enough alternative acts (comedians, magicians etc).
The Bowleaze Cove area is scenic and pleasant; views of Portland and Weymouth town are spectacular, and the beach is sandy. There's a small and surprisingly affordable fairground for younger kids, with the obligatory arcade from which I won a cuddly monkey on the grabbers at the very end of our holiday, after a week of trying. Over the hill at Bowleaze is the Spy Glass Inn, which is worth a visit.
Waterside advertises itself as the number one site on the south coast - not sure about that, but it's certainly up with the best I've stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wulf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

What can I say! This is such a brilliant park and I have been coming here for about 6 years now and I have booked a 7th. It is a great family holiday right by the sea. Very close to the brilliant Weymouth beach. The park is clean and tidy. The whole park is kept neat and I have never had any problem with it at all. The park staff always speak to you in a friendly way and are very helpful. Also, no one can just walk in. There is always someone to take your pass. (which are free) The entertainment, pool and spa are 5 star and are of very high standard and so are the caravans. I have never had to complain about my caravan. Any additional items I have ever asked for has been there waiting. Never had to complain about lake of bedding or crockery. Everything here is excellent and I would recommend this a million times over and I would tell anyone looking for a safe, family holiday to go here any day!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Thankyou so much to all the staff at waterside park, what a fabulous holiday park for all ages.
We will definately be back again and again!
Mr and Mrs Dorey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkandwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a great place for a family holiday by the sea. We love coming to Weymouth and the location is second to none with Bowleaze Cove having stunning sea views.Its also a lovely starting point for a coastal walk. The park itself is clean and tidy and the welcome on arrival is professional and friendly. We chose the park because of the spa facilities and the swimming pool and entertainment for the kids. All of these were great and highly recommended. Accomodation is to a high standard too so all in all we were very happy with our holiday at waterside and would definitiely go again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHiljemarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
4.0 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.2 km away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Holiday Park & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Holiday Park & Spa

Property: Waterside Holiday Park & Spa
Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterside Holiday Park & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Waterside Holiday Park Hotel Weymouth
Waterside Holiday Park And Spa
Waterside Holiday Park & Spa Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing