We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I wouldn't recommend this guest house to others!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitecliff Guest House

Whitecliff Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitecliff Guest House
Ranked #135 of 169 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I wouldn't recommend this guest house to others!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Staying in this guest house was not the best experience i've had, the rooms are small and the toilet and shower are in separate closets, it was unbelieveably tiny in both shower and toilet absolutely no room to move in any direction, most uncomfortable.

lots of obvious things seemed to not be up to standard, we weren't looking for things to pick on but there was limescale in the room kettle, a horrid tea tray that looked like it needed a good wash or binning, there were hairs in the toilet sink and pink shampoo stuck to shower unit from previous occupier, some grot around the plug hole in the shower, a piece of the sliding door came off in my hand when showering, and no where to stand bottles in the shower itself, there was old blue tac stuck on the outside of the room doors that also looked like they need a good lick of paint.

our first breakfast there was and ok experience, not much choice it was full english and/ or cereal, our toast arrived cold, along with a grumpy staff member, we were narrowed down to a specific time of when to eat, not what we would have prefered, another couple came down early and were berated by the owner for being early and told to eat cereal while they wait.
i understand he wanted it to be made fresh but that was abit much!

the location was amazing literally a stones throw away from the beach, weymouth itself is a lovely little place, i recommend the sealife centre a 15 to 20 min walk away from the guest house, or take the land train, take discount vouchers as it is a little pricey to get in, but worth it if you have kids and spend the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

decided to go to weymouth at last minute and turned up without booking anywhere however if we go in future we would book this bed and breakfast as i dont think we could of got much better. the place is very clean, Dennis very helpful and couldnt do enough for you. beds are comfortable, no complaints at all, breakfast is brilliant, very well cooked, i couldnt eat lunch i was still full up!! excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate20554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Just what is needed for a few days away !
Mine host, Dennis ..... welcoming and cheery !
Beds very comfy, Breakfast , well we both struggled to eat it all !!
A view to die for, right on the front , situated on the terrace of smaller B and B's , that we preferred ,rather than larger , more impersonal hotels .
We'll certainly return , and hope to bring more of the family again soon .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Recently updated with new carpets and furniture. A charming guesthouse with a friendly, personal welcome serving full english breakfasts. Excellent location on the seafront with views of the sea from the breakfast room. Easy walk to the town, harbour and railway station. Very quiet position with no noisy traffic passing by.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollyputthekettleon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

We booked a Family Room at the Whitecliff in Weymouth which, apparently, had one double, two twins, a put-you-up bed and could sleep five. There was no sign of the put-you-up (doubt it could fit in the room with the other beds) so good job there were only four of us.

The proprietor - a somewhat grumpy chap from Essex - was unwelcoming, over-officious and has seemingly never heard of the phrase “the customer is always right”. Might explain why we were the only people staying in his establishment when all of the other guesthouses we had contacted previously were fully booked.

Weymouth - a lively seaside town - has much going for it. The Whitecliff is not one of them. There are many other guesthouses in the vicinity. Do yourself a favour and stay in of them instead.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foster_harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
11.9 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
4.1 km away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitecliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecliff Guest House

Property: Whitecliff Guest House
Address: 7 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,582 - ₹ 7,660
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whitecliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecliff Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing