We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - fresh and local” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab House Cafe

Crab House Cafe
Ranked #8 of 277 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic - fresh and local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

You will have to book - and turn up on time - but it really is worth it. The local oysters are grown 20 metres from where you eat in the water lapping at the bottom of the 'groovy' seating area - we ordered a second plate they were so good. Having started outdoors, we were comfortably moved indoors next to the kitchen action when it became too cold. The menu is imaginitive and modern, always respectful that the star of the show is the freshest of fish. I ordered the cheapest thing on the menu - a brace of gilthead bream baked in ginger and soy sauce with preserved lemon and coriander rice - simpy becuase it sounded so great - and it certainly was, and substantial too. Side order of sliced greens with peas was perfect with fish. The only thing i remember about desserts was that they were delicious - i guess they didnt hang around long - and were finished with an interesting selection of sweet wines including an unusual italian red sweet wine.
This is the sort of thing you will never find in London and makes you pleased you ventured out of the big city - we didnt try the superb looking whole crab in plain or lightly spiced versions, but you should always need a reason to come back...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trysca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    220
    80
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckhurst Hill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good crab, service indifferent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Good food, great position, relaxed beach ambience, quirky decor, but service indifferent and a little slow/forgetful. We had no complaints on the food. The crab and oysters in particular were stars of the show. I wanted to love it more but the service let it down, drinks were forgotten and the plates were extremely slow to be cleared despite the fact we had debris from 6 crabs. A good place to visit in the area but could be better.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster on Sea
Level Contributor
174 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Superior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I just love this place - lovely fish, lovely people and lovely view!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster on Sea
Level Contributor
174 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Superior!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you like fish then this is a must place to go if you are in the Weymouth area. We have been here a couple of times, although we live 180 miles from The Crab House Cafe and both times have been a very special experience. A wooden building right next to The Fleet, at the start of the road to Portland, it doesn't look a lot (although in the summer it would be great to be sitting outside) but go inside and you are confronted by an array of fresh fish (landed between Weymouth and Brixham) and a menu that leaves you wondering what to choose. Service is helpful and friendly, and you can sit and watch your food being prepared as you sip a glass of white Rioja, or you can watch the light changing on the water. The food is always excellent and reasonably priced, but you do need to like fish as it is pretty much all that is on the menu (crab and oysters are a speciality). Please go and see for yourself - you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SkateMinsteronSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great fish, poor seating and average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Went for lunch on Friday 13th April 2012 after reading an articles in Daily Telegraph 2 weeks ago. We arrived at 1.30 (30 mins before end of service) and were told "we were the last that they could squeeze in". So we were sited at a plank style table requiring bar stools outside the loos! Considering we didnt book then beggars cannot be choosers. However unbooked parties kept arriving until we left at 3pm and guess what - they too were told that they were the last that could be squeezed in. One assertive lady managed a table in the sun for her family and duly doned a sombrero (freely provided for those sitting in the sun). So decor not great. Service was a bit disjointed and slow. Staff seemed to be more preoccupied with statements like "we are fully booked in summer"; "We had 80 covers this lunchtime and have a further 90 this evening. However the fresh fish is second to none and the homemade bread (free cover) was excellent. Crabs come with a lethal weapon - a hammer - which some customers managed to dent the table with. Health and safety inspectors would have a field day - eye goggles to protect from flying shell etc.

Anyway back to the fish - truely fresh and excellent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crab House Cafe also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Crab House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing