We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice site with great views!”
Review of Sea Barn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Barn Farm
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice site with great views!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Sea Barn over the Bank Holiday weekend. We had read some of the reviews and were expecting the worst but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We found that if you treated the staff nicely and in an upbeat humour they were more than happy to help! We tried the swimming pool in the neighbouring campsite and found it clean and warm enough to swim in! Sea Barn is definitely the quieter site which suited our family (2 ad, 2 kids 4 &8). we didn't experience any noise and would go back as it was a great base to visit Portland & Weymouth. Great walks from the campsite and the views...... definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziewoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    92
    41
    27
    28
See reviews for
143
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Firstly we went to West Fleet, only to discover it was full, and for that matter, full of kids! Very noisy and not that great a sea view. So we drove to Sea Barn, just up the road, and were shocked by how quiet, spacious and beautiful it was! Stunning views of the hills, Fleet Lagoon, Portland Isle and the Jurassic Coastline. The new block and old block of toilets were clean and smelt nice, and we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely little farm walks and loads to do and explore around the area. The shop sells postcards, disposable BBQs, toys etc and as fires were not permitted there was no stinky smoke either. A wonderful retreat - with not too many noisy children or teenagers.

Room Tip: Drive through the whole campsite first to find the best views and the quietest part is at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at Sea Barn Farm for two nights 12/13 August. We booked late, but our telephone booking was taken politely and efficiently.

It is great to choose your own pitch as you can pick the areas best suited to your needs. All of the on-site facilities are extremely clean, and all of the staff encountered were helpful and cheerful. Whilst we were booking in, the lady at reception was dealing admirably with a very difficult customer (large group, wrong number of persons booked, all the gear, no idea...). She was extremely patient.

The small site shop sells just about everything you need and is open long hours. There are walking routes directly accessible from the location. Several groups were in residence during our stay, they were well-behaved and no disturbance at all. I wish I could say the same of the couple opposite whose tent vibrated nightly with the most dreadful snoring I have ever heard..... I swear the tent actually moved an inch each day with the vibration (!).

We would definitely revisit this site, lots to see and do in the area and lovely clean facilities.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at Sea Barn for 3 nights - we were concerned about some of the reviews but we are so glad we went and we would definately return.

The site is well run and the new facilities are superb - the old facilities are more than adequate - this is camping and if you want luxury (although the new facilities provide it) then why are you in a tent?

The staff are efficient and pleasant enough - it's a tough business and they dont have time to wait on difficult customers hand and foot. The shop is really well stocked and I was surprised that Sea Barn did not make more of the fact that they sell sausages and burgers from their own farm. A really nice touch and delicious!

I think that people who have said the rules handed out are over the top are just deluded and ignorant. The rules are included in an informative booklet (one page of common sense) along with a quiz page, suggested walking routes, wildlife info, entertainment and pool info for the neighbouring park and a few other bits of info.

We did not find the rules overbearing and everyone around us was respectfull of noise after 11pm and the atmosphere was great throughout the site. A superb location with views to die for.

Room Tip: Head to the far end of the site for the best views and try the burgers from the farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southfields11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Firstly, I accept this is August so I know the site will be busy.

But until about 9:30 at night this site was like a zoo - there were unsupervised kids everywhere.

We didn't hear too much music and were kept up unti 1AM on just 1 of the 7 nights so that wasn't too bad, but generally you cannot expect anything remotely quiet until the kids go to bed around 10 PM.

Shower and loo block were very good.

The site claims to be for the more "decerning camper" but really it felt exactly the same as the adjacent larger site, perhaps it was full of people as an overflow from that site rather than people looking for a quiet site ?

We wil not return.

Room Tip: If you value quietness go out of school holidays or to another site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelGPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
0.7 km away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
633 reviews
11.0 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
232 reviews
3.2 km away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#18 of 165 in Weymouth
215 reviews
5.9 km away
Chesil Family Holiday Park
1.7 km away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Barn Farm

Property: Sea Barn Farm
Address: Sea Barn Farm Fleet, Weymouth, Dorset DT3, UK Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Also Known As:
Sea Barn Farm Hotel Weymouth
Sea Barn Farm Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing