We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well-appoiinted and secluded”
other travellers have booked this property
Craiglarach Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craiglarach Cottage
Craiglarach cottage Wood burner in sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Craiglarach Cottage
Craiglarach cottage
Wood burner in sitting room
Window seat with view of garden
Sitting room
Sitting room
Dining room
Kitchen
Family bathroom
View of garden from dining room
View from the garden
Aboyne green
River Dee
View of Morven
Walk along the River Dee
Walking in Glen Tanar Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aboyne, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R C
ACT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well-appoiinted and secluded”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A little difficult to find (don't rely on Satnav), but it's a real gem. The cottage looks out over (up to) field, forest and mountain and is very well equipped - everything you could need in the kitchen, including consumables like paper towel and dishwasher tablets - as well as spotlessly clean. There is a glassed-in conservatory for breakfast and a cosy sitting room with fireplace. The bed is comfortable and the hot water reliable. Pheasants visit regularly and we saw a mink bounding across the back lawn. Although there are some walks in the immediate vicinity, the cottage is best as a base for exploring the wider Deeside area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fireplace
Liked least: peat coloured water (but there was a filter)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fochabers...
Fochabers
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, my daughter, and our daughter's dog, all enjoyed a lovely week of mixed weather at Craiglarach Cottage, from 7-14th September.
Everything was so well thought out for visitors , from the more than adequate amount of crockery and cutlery, to the bedside lamps, lovely dining room etc.
The complete cleanliness of the place made for instant comfort, as so many holiday homes skimp on this basic necessity, and I often find myself spending a couple of hours cleaning before I feel comfortable.
The whole area of Royal Deeside is stunningly beautiful, and the cottage is in a wooded area, rich in birdlife, deer, even a couple of frogs and a newt made themselves known to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Liked least: We found nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanne W
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The cottage was exactly what we were looking for.”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four nights at Craiglarach Cottage during one of the biggest snowfalls of the year. The cottage was warm and spotless on our arrival, and there was plenty of firewood available to keep us cozy throughout our stay. The underfloor heating and towel rails were great, as were the individually controlled radiators. We were travelling with two teenage boys, and they appreciated having their own beds. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a cozy retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing