We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in beautiful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Lonin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lonin Cottage
Living area. Living/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Lonin Cottage
Living area.
Living/dining area
Kitchen area
Bedroom 1.
View from bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2.
View in winter
Sunset over of the valley in late summer
A view over the valley
The cottages from afar
Sunset over of the valley in late summer #2
A sheep in winter
The beauty of winter from the cosy warmth of the cottage
A red winter sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveler5...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

John & Diana accommodated us a short notice. The cottage was excellent with everything you could possibly want. The views over the reservoir are spectacular and to top it all we had lovely warm sunshine. It is so peaceful and relaxing. John & Diana are wonderful hosts, it is well worth a visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Hi Mr & Mrs Pierce,
Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated. The comfort & happiness of our guests is our primary concern. We are happy when you are happy!
Kind regards to you both.
John & Diana.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven b
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A quiet and tranquil break”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Anyone looking for a quiet and tranquil holiday and who enjoys scenery and walking then this is just up your street. The owners John and Diana Young make you feel at home from the off. Diana showed us around the accommodation and was very helpful. The owners had left a lovely plate of scones and cake for us which was a lovely touch. The cottage looks out over Hury reservoir and is in an amazing location. The cottage has all the facilities of home. Anyone who has heard of Hannah Hauxwell will find her old house and Hannah's meadow just down the road,easily within walking distance. The walks around the three nearbyl reservoirs are so lovely taking in the local wildlife and of course the odd sheep here and their. One great walk is from Low force to High force waterfalls parking at Bowlees visitors centre. Barnard Castle is the nearest town that offers a great selection of shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thank you! If our guests enjoy staying with us it makes our job worthwhile.
Thank you too for leaving us a very tidy cottage.
Kind regards.
John & Diana.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie L
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic week away staying in this cottage. We were given a very warm welcome on our arrival, with a welcome tray including scones and cakes. The owners live on site and nothing is too much trouble, it was a pleasure to meet them. The cottage is lovely and spotlessly clean. You will want for nothing. The coal fire was a lovely treat it was so nice to come back to the cottage after a day out and sit in front of an open fire.
The views across the reservoir from the cottage are quite simply stunning- we had lovely weather and I thoroughly enjoyed my morning cuppa sitting outside the cottage watching the lambs in the field and taking in the views.
The North penines are unspoilt and beautiful and without a doubt the cottage is sitting right in the middle of some of the most stunning scenery in England. Great walks from right outside the cottage door and we really appreciated the cottage owners top tips for local walks.
We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage and would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We got here early and had a very walm welcome and really enjoyed our stay.
We would recommend this and come back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luv0urh0l...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The perfect countryside getaway!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute we arrived we were thoroughly pleased! The location and surroundings speak for themselves with the unspoiled, tranquil, scenic Yorkshire Dales literally staring at us from the cottage's window! John & Diane were extremely welcoming and friendly and we were told right away that if we'd forgotten or needed anything just to ask!

Waiting for us was tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fresh milk in the fridge for a cuppa on arrival and a plate of scones (with jam and butter), cake and chocolate fancies! What a lovely welcoming touch! There was also a little dish of treats for the dogs too!

The cottage was absolutely spotlessly clean! I can't get that across enough....I have no idea in a cottage where families, walkers and dogs stay how they keep it so clean (and with a beige carpet downstairs too!) but seriously, it was absolutely immaculate in every single room!

Aside from the cleanliness, what really impressed us was that they had thought of everything! When you go self catering, you are always thinking what you might need, especially for the catering side of things, but seriously, when you stay here you'll just need your food and clothes! There was even a dishwasher which meant that all of the cups, glasses, cutlery etc we're squeaky clean! (I'm running out of adjectives now to describe the standard of cleanliness but we have stayed in various types of accommodation throughout the world and this really impressed us!).

We will absolutely be back and have no hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone else....in fact our parents are already looking at going to stay!

The cottage aside, the area is beautiful and has endless walks to suit all levels and abilities. And if the weather sets in....you can always go back to the cottage and snuggle down in front of the open fire which is already prepared for you on arrival so you just have to light it, open a bottle, sit and relax and listen to the crackle of the fire! Just perfect!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing